Exhaust Sound Upgrade (Advice)

agentjay

Reaction score
Hello guys, I was just wondering is it possible to make a 5dr 2007 1.6 FSI A3 sound like this? THIS

I'm new to audi and only 18 so it will cost so much to get insured on a 2.0, 3.2 or a 1.8 XD, thanks.

Errrm, no. That's a 5 cyl engine which has it's own note.

Probably as close as you will come is a decat, non-res full Milltek setup. Maybe something with those flappy nonsense things in the exhaust, somebody could advise on a maker with those .... ££££.

Ask yourself:

(a) Will the sound make you go faster?
(b) Is it worth it on a non-turbo car?

If the "smile factor" is worth it, go for it, but personally i'd save for a 2.0T in a couple of years. Considered spending on a tunable car is much better than aiming for a sound or look from a totally different car.

Don't ask this rover metro owner:

View attachment 25916

As mentioned above that's a 5pot engine with a non resonated cat back, so in short no.

I'd personally save any money for now and get a 2.0 or 3.2 in a few years. If you are wanting to mod the engine for performance gains the 2.0T would be a better choice, however if you are after an amazing engine note then the 3.2 would be the way to go.

Hmmm okay thanks :( Really want an Audi a3, got about 7.5k for a car + insurance lol + another 4k for upgrades... dont no what to get :(

I don't know about the insurance side of things but you could definitely pick up a car with the budget you have.

Don't think you'd need anywhere near the 4K for modding so you might be better putting this towards the car, especially as modding a car can seriously increase insurance premiums. Just something to think about anyway. The A3 is a great car and I can't recommend one enough.

Reactions: Karlos_