S3 feels slow

s5joe

Reaction score
I have not had my s3 that long but before it I had a golf gti with a stage 1 map and a s3 8l and this one does not feel anywhere near as fast as them two it revs rite up to red line but I can hear the turbo whistle from about 3.5k but just does not seem quick at all any ideas

mine doesn't feel fast as does my friends mkv gti stage2+ but it's faster for sure. i guess it's the way the s3 put's the power down through 4wd.
also you can check your diverter valve for splits, if you have prefacelift s3.

I might get the dv off it and have a look at it. When is it normal to hear the turbo

Reactions: Cozza McA
With the window down I can here my turbo whistle from approx 2500rpm
I've been running mine for 3 months and a few weeks ago I thought it was getting slow and the turbo didn't whistle until 3500rpm it turned out my air flow meter was faulty.
What a difference silky smooth again and turbo in from 2500rpm.
I unplugged my air flow meter which didn't put the light on and the difference was extremely noticeable.

With the window down I can here my turbo whistle from approx 2500rpm
I've been running mine for 3 months and a few weeks ago I thought it was getting slow and the turbo didn't whistle until 3500rpm it turned out my air flow meter was faulty.
What a difference silky smooth again and turbo in from 2500rpm.
I unplugged my air flow meter which didn't put the light on and the difference was extremely noticeable.

I'll try that nice one mate I will try and get a maf reading as well

To be fair,the S3 8P is a pretty heavy car.

1500kgs and 265bhp makes for a brisk,but not rapid car,and it's delivery is also pretty linear,which may result in it's feeling a bit sluggish.

To be fair,the S3 8P is a pretty heavy car.

1500kgs and 265bhp makes for a brisk,but not rapid car,and it's delivery is also pretty linear,which may result in it's feeling a bit sluggish.

Yer I know that but I am not convinced that it's running rite if you get me