2.0tdi 140 remap

dannyh1991uk

Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Hi, few topics about remapping but as i have little knowledge on this i thought id ask on here.

I want to remap my 2006 2.0tdi 140bhp A3. Only problem is iv heard about the turbo problems...
Iv read somewhere that this happens when the new map is pushed too far and is trying to get too much out the engine, i only want to take it up to 170bhp (if the limit for the turbo is 185?)

Car is on 60,000 miles and obviously want this to last me a long while, especially without forking out for blown turbos. :/

Could somebody please advise?

get it remaped! dont worry about the turbo! BUT DONT GET the DPF removed, as from the new MOT rules you wont pass anymore.
Im not sure about remapping but without removing the filter you probably wont make those figures you stated.

Im sure someone with knowledge will talk some sense :p

Aha thanks for the reply.

I don't think i have a DPF on my model :s

I just don't understand if a remap has to be a certain brand (eg Revo) and gives set specifications or if you just go somewhere and you tell them what you want. :/ lol

Other ways of adding BHP to a 2.0tdi 140? Iv read aftermarket panel air filters are pants lol

That 2006 model wont have a DPF fitted as the older PD140's didnt have them. If it did and the DPF delete was done correctly it would still pass as its a visual inspection only.

Right then so to the remapping saga.......the turbo will take up to about 200bhp but at that it will be struggling. A Shark Stage 1 goes to about 175/180bhp and transforms the car and can be verified by alot of ASN members......regardless of what map it is. Whoever you do choose you wont be disappointed. A Stage 1 remap will put more strain on your engine so if the car has been reliable and well serviced there shouldn't be a problem. Stage 1 is normally fine on the clutch but you can never tell so to be on the safe side budget for a new one further down the line after the remap.