Bizarre problem - loss of Quattro?!

batch

Reaction score
Good morning all and Happy New Year!

Now before I get any smart-*** comments, I'm new to both Quattro, really fast cars and also new cars! However I'm fairly sure what I'm reporting isn't normal...

Over the last few days, I've started noticing a complete lack of grip from my car in all but the mildest of scenarios. From pulling away from a standing start, accelerating in-gear, and even cornering. I know this sounds silly, but it's almost like the four-wheel drive is failing to engage. For example pulling away from a standstill, if I give it any right foot the traction light starts blinking and the car's squirming away with the odd heavy thud from the front. Yesterday, on a dry stretch of A-road and in fourth gear, I accelerated and it did the same thing! I've not had much chance to corner it hard recently but the quiet roads on the way into work this morning gave me a bit of opportunity and it doesn't feel right. Is it possible that the Haldex isn't engaging the rear wheels properly/at all? I'm having 4-wheel alignment done next week, would issues there compromise grip so badly?

It's a 2012 S3, Shark Stage 1 remap and Neuspeed CAI. Michelin PS3s on the front with less than 2k miles (probably not even a thousand). Tyre pressures checked regularly.

And yes I know it's a (fairly) powerful car and it's winter, cold and damp, but it's hardly a 350bhp Mk1 Golf on stretched 13s, and it has only just started feeling "funny"? Or am I just being over-sensitive?!

just do a standstill launch with very high revs(traction off), u will feel if all 4 wheels starts spinning!

Mines only a remapped A3 and i an easily get all 4 spinning in the dry. Easy test, probably not the best test tho lol.

It's not happened till recently though mate, that's the thing. Was fine when we had the cold snap back around October time, fine in all the soaking conditions. Literally only gone crazy a few days ago!