My a3 starts but won't run

M535man

Reaction score
Hi all,

Our A3 is having a major paddy at the moment - it is starting easily, but keeps dying straight away, also the entire instrument cluster is completely dead. This makes the car undeliverable, and I have just found out that despite paying over £100 a year for aa cover, I am covered everywhere in the uk apart from my house. Which is unfortunate because that's where I live!

Is this a common issue, can I do anything to get the car running again long enough to get to a garage, and lastly if this is an issue anyone has come across before, is it going to be expensive?

Thanks so much for your advice, and apologies if this has been asked a million times before, I am a total novice in the world of audi's! ;-)

There is an immobiliser chip in the instrument cluster I believe. Maybe if there's no power to the cluster it won't start? Just guessing.

Thanks, I didn't know that, I wonder if I would make things worse by removing the cluster and making sure all the cables are connected.

The car will start at the first turn of the key, however it stops running after a second or so. This happens every time- would the immobiliser allow the car to start at all, even briefly?

My A3 has done this twice but has restarted fine.

Will run for 1-2 seconds then die. Hasn't done it since!

1 Fault Found:
005488 - Engine Start Blocked by Immobilizer
P1570 - 000 - - Intermittent
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 00100000
Fault Priority: 1
Fault Frequency: 1
Mileage: 113880 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2013.07.02
Time: 03:18:17

Freeze Frame:
RPM: 966 /min
Speed: 0.0 km/h
Load: 0.0 %
Voltage: 12.16 V
Bin. Bits: 00101100
Bin. Bits: 11000000
(no units): 33.0

Readiness: 0 0 0 0 0

Last edited:
If you havent got home start with the AA couldnt you get towed or push the car a couple of streets away? thats what folk normally do.