• 1 Post By hollow
  • 1 Post By M535man
  • 1 Post By M535man

Thread: My a3 starts but won't run

Reverse Gear

Status

My a3 starts but won't run

Hi all,

Our A3 is having a major paddy at the moment - it is starting easily, but keeps dying straight away, also the entire instrument cluster is completely dead. This makes the car undeliverable, and I have just found out that despite paying over £100 a year for aa cover, I am covered everywhere in the uk apart from my house. Which is unfortunate because that's where I live!

Is this a common issue, can I do anything to get the car running again long enough to get to a garage, and lastly if this is an issue anyone has come across before, is it going to be expensive?

Thanks so much for your advice, and apologies if this has been asked a million times before, I am a total novice in the world of audi's! ;-)

2. # ADS
    ADS

2nd Gear

Status
    There is an immobiliser chip in the instrument cluster I believe. Maybe if there's no power to the cluster it won't start? Just guessing.

Reverse Gear

Status
    Thanks, I didn't know that, I wonder if I would make things worse by removing the cluster and making sure all the cables are connected.

The car will start at the first turn of the key, however it stops running after a second or so. This happens every time- would the immobiliser allow the car to start at all, even briefly?

6th Gear

Status
    My A3 has done this twice but has restarted fine.

Will run for 1-2 seconds then die. Hasn't done it since!

1 Fault Found:
    005488 - Engine Start Blocked by Immobilizer
    P1570 - 000 - - Intermittent
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 00100000
    Fault Priority: 1
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Mileage: 113880 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2013.07.02
    Time: 03:18:17

Freeze Frame:
    RPM: 966 /min
    Speed: 0.0 km/h
    Load: 0.0 %
    Voltage: 12.16 V
    Bin. Bits: 00101100
    Bin. Bits: 11000000
    (no units): 33.0

Readiness: 0 0 0 0 0