Strange clutch or gearbox fault. Can anyone help?

Graham89

Derv Perv
Reaction score
Hi all. My cat is a 2.0 tdi bkd engine code 2005 model. It's done 148k and had the clutch, flywheel, slave and master cylinder replaced 47k ago.

The symptoms are sometimes lack of clutch pressure when revs are lower. Sometimes it gets stuck in 1st or reverse and the biting point can vary somewhat.
Also if I slightly rest foot on clutch pedal and put power down the pedal drops slightly. Power off the pedal rises back up slightly.

Been told it's the lay shaft bearings by a mechanic I know. I'm no mechanic but I haven't heard of bearings causing this kind of symptom. 5th gear does have a whine when bringing clutch up. I don't want to have the lay shaft bearings changed to find fault still there.

Sorry for the long thread I'm just at a loss of a definitive answer.

Sounds like a lot of air in the system or a leaking cylinder.

Try getting the whole clutch / brake fluid system bled properly as these cars can be a pain to get right - they dont like to be pressure bled like the prev gen a3 and golfs. Try putting a hose on the clutch bleed nipple on the front of the engine connected to a small airtight clean oilcan filled correct with brake / clutch fluid and pump through after undoing the brake fluid cap and watch the bubbles come out... Hopefully should be no more variable clutch biting point!

If not gearbox rebuild or second hand / recon box im afraid.. ive had to replace my box and rear diff - the l/s bearings in the g box are a known weak spot me thinks

I agree the clutch doesn't like being pressure bled - having changed my clutch a few weeks ago I struggle to get a pedal on the new slave cylinder for a while. I clamped my clutch hose right near the gearbox and reconnedt the new slave cylinder and there was no clutch pedal. I tired pressure bleeding it but for some reason air was just being pushed through.