2009 A3 Tdi Sportback Quattro - auxiliary water pump problems.

Tiger-G

Reaction score
Hi,

I've got a fault code for my auxiliary water pump and would like to change it myself as I'm a pretty competent mechanic. Problem is I can't find any info on how to do it on the internet. Bought a copy of Elsawin thinking that would help, but I can't find the "how to" on there either ??

Anyroadup...........Please can someone tell me if it's at the front or back of the engine, and what I need to remove to get to it ?? From the bits and bobs of info I've gathered, it's underneath the intake manifold ??

I would have thought there'd be a "how to" on this, but I'm ******** if I can find one ??

Many thanks in advance for any info,
Graeme.

Hi Marshy,

Thanks for the info. I think the one on mine is a bit longer and skinnier, but at least I know which bit of the engine bay to look in, lol !!

It's gonna be a ****** to get to. Looks like an inlet manifold off job :-(

Is your car a 170bhp?
If it is it should be like this.
I've replaced a few of these on various vw/audi and seats and they're all in the same place and easy to do.
Never needed to touch the inlet manifold on any.
If you take your undertray off take a picture of it and post it here.
Cheers

Yeah, it's the 170bhp. I'll whip the undertray off and have a butchers, cause I can't see it from the top ??

Cheers :)

Here's a pic. Is this it ??

Anyone know if Audi are calling the axiliary water pump in Elsawin the: "Pump for exhaust gas recirculation cooler -V400" ??

Last edited by a moderator:
Yeah it's easily accessable. First thing you notice at the front of the engine underneath. Three main hex bolts on a bracket.

Damn, didn't think to get a get a part number !! From the pic I can make out: 0816 09 T C84 (I think ??)