Monster MotorsportSky Insurance
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By tdi-man
  • 1 Post By @udi A3

Thread: 2.0 TDI 140, 54' A3 Start up woes, wont crank all the way.

Neutral

Status

2.0 TDI 140, 54' A3 Start up woes, wont crank all the way.

Hey guys, I have an intermittent problem. I went out to my car at 2.00PM earlier, lovely toasty weather, and turned the key in my car described in title as 2.0 TDI 140, 54' A3, it took me 4 turns of the key to start it, when its going its lovely no problems, for comparison I finished work at 8.30PM today, same day, and it started slightly on a longer crank, but first time.

The first 3 times though, feel like incomplete cranks, I turn the key all the way and it makes that typical start up fail crank noise we all know, then maybe it cranks a bit further the next time, on the 3rd it just cranks and immediately stops, then boom it starts fine on try number 4?

I'm no mechanic so this stuff is all a bit alien to me, I understand there's garages to see etc, but maybe someone has some ideas.

Thanks

2. # ADS
    ADS

Reverse Gear

Status

My Social Networking

Add Matt_Storm on Facebook
    I had this on the same car if there is lots of white smoke and chugging it could be a porous head otherwise check the fuel filter it may need changing.

3rd Gear

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt_Storm View Post
    I had this on the same car if there is lots of white smoke and chugging it could be a porous head otherwise check the fuel filter it may need changing.
    Is it only when hot or cold as it could be glow plugs, duff battery or coolant temp sensor if you could get a scan done that would point you in a direction

Neutral

Status
    Hi guys, as far as i can see and remember there has been no smokey issues, and weather wise, its hard to say as its an alien 24 degrees at the minute, I would say the car has probably been cool and done this too.

I shall look at getting a scan!

6th Gear

Status