JMB RetrofitsVolks Autos
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ace A3

Thread: 2005 A3 2.0tdi clicking/ticking noise when hot

Reverse Gear

Status

2005 A3 2.0tdi clicking/ticking noise when hot

Hi All,
    I am new to this and have just joined, i am having problems with my 2005 A3 2.0tdi, first of all the turbo blew, then the engine went, List of work done so far:
    New turbo
    Second hand engine
    timing belt and water pump kit
    Clutch and dual mass flywheel
    Alternator clutch overrun pully

The car runs fine now but has developed a ticking/clicking sound when the engine is hot, it is fine up till then. it seems to be coming from the back/bottom of the engine and gets louder when slowing down also when the clutch is in.

Does anybody please have any ideas as i really want to keep the car considering all the work i have done.

Thanks

2. # ADS
    ADS

Neutral

Status
    check the head mate

dont think thats its not because theres no smoke

i had a clicking from my engine which was from the right hand side of the engine near the battery and now I'm have changed the head because it was cracked theres no ticking noises anymore touch wood.

Reverse Gear

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by NavA3 View Post
    check the head mate

dont think thats its not because theres no smoke

i had a clicking from my engine which was from the right hand side of the engine near the battery and now I'm have changed the head because it was cracked theres no ticking noises anymore touch wood.
    Sounds more like from the bottom back underneath

2nd Gear

Status
    More than likely its the small cover plate on the back of the flywheel as you say you've had the clutch & flywheel changed...

if you look up under the rear of the gearbox/engine there is a small plate with one torx (iirc!) bolt and it clips in at the top... Remove the plate, give it a slight bend so that when it goes back on the plate is bent away from the flywheel

That should sort it out