Uh oh! Head gasket or cylinder head?

Tommy53

Reaction score
Hi
The coolants been going down recently and I've had a vagcom in that has shown me my radiator isn't working. It struggles to start on a cold engine and blows out white smoke when it finally does. Theres also white stuff appearing under the oil cap.

The car is the 53 plate a3 2.0 tdi and I'm sure it's never had a head replacement on it. The fact all this started when I think I noticed my radiator / cooling fan failing makes me think its head gasket? Because maybe it's getting too hot, however I'm a rookie at all this.

Any thoughts? Obviously as many will know the 53 plate heads a prone to crack so I'm not sure which it will be!

anyone know a rough cost of both a head replacement or head gasket replacement?

Cheers

possible new head needed :(

plus new cam belt and water pump and labour to do it

cooling fans aint cheap :(

remove head and get fully tested

think my bill was 2000.00 but had the bottom end rebuilt as well.

Aww :( that's the last thing I need with my turbo going too! Probably be easier to do an engine swap! Can pick them up off eBay for about 1200 fitted with less mileage than mine

I look into this bottom ends on these engines are very good so I would get a new head done as you may put another engine in a be back to square 1 at least u know if u get your head done its brand new

I would pressure test in situ first as it could be your oil cooler mixing before ripping it to bits .

Reactions: s3reptdi
Ahh I see! Got some big decisions to make really. Only bought the car last week and its got massive proems he's managed to hide, surly I've got some sort of rights to get my money back (wasn't a trader it was private) :(

what head did you buy for the engine then? Did you replace it with yet another 'porous' one?

I would pressure test in situ first as it could be your oil cooler mixing before ripping it to bits .