S Tronic advice on 170ps Diesel

Richard Peters

Reaction score
Website
www.richardpeters.co.uk
Hi folks, following on from my recent first thread, I have changed directions and not going for the car I saw at a local Audi dealer (long story but partly wasn't happy with service I was given). However on Sunday I'm now going to look at what appears to be a beautiful example of a 2010 Black Edition with S Tronic.

I've no experience of these at all, so have done a bit of searching on the forums to get some info but would like to hear user experiences from anyone who has this engine and gearbox combo. I've read some comments online that say this box isn't suited to diesels and others that say they are the perfect combination!

I do love to drive, so my real worry would be that I'd grow bored of the experience of not having a manual, however many have said the way S Tronic behaves in manual mode gives you almost as much fun. I've read a few comments about how the car can get confused as to what gear it's in when rolling up to roundabouts etc but that seems to be rare and more so something that I guess isn't an issue in manual mode.

Apologies for the waffle! I guess really what I want to know is:

a) Is there any quirks of this system to be aware of
b) major problems to look for when checking the car out (it's done 30k miles)
c) How much worse is the fuel consumption compared to a manual with this engine (I see tax is more too)
d) are S tronic models any different performance wise, slower, faster, generally about the same?

Thanks in advance for any replies :)

I have the 170 dsg....upgraded from the 140 manual!

I love it and will probably never buy a manual again! I regulay get 50mpg+. Make use the dsg oil and filter have been changed when it should have and im lead to belive they are faster 0-60 wise than the manual!

The manual paddles and stick aint really up to much but in sport i think you would struggle to beat it!

Test drive one you wont be dissapointed!