Fault Code Reader

salam0506

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Bit of a newbie here to the Audi - I have a 2006 2.0TDI A3 and when buying it from my mate the engine management light has been on for quite a while. He said he got it checked and its the MAF sensor and describe it as a butterfly valve which needs changing. I was thinking in investing in a fault code reader off ebay for cheap and checking myself:

Audi A2 A3 A4 A6 A8 Fault Code Reader Scanner diagnostic scan tool | eBay

That seems a bit too cheap to be any good - has anyone got one? Does it work ok?

Also if it is the MAF sensor I have had a look and it seems quite easy to change as its just located at the top of the engine with the air box? She described it being expensive due to labour costs as it is hard to get to - maybe she was thinking of something else? Currently the car drives fine but the engine does vibrate a bit more than expected during idle.

Any ideas or advice would be much appreciated.

cheers
seenan

Hi Guys,

Bit of a newbie here to the Audi - I have a 2006 2.0TDI A3 and when buying it from my mate the engine management light has been on for quite a while. He said he got it checked and its the MAF sensor and describe it as a butterfly valve which needs changing. I was thinking in investing in a fault code reader off ebay for cheap and checking myself:

Audi A2 A3 A4 A6 A8 Fault Code Reader Scanner diagnostic scan tool | eBay

That seems a bit too cheap to be any good - has anyone got one? Does it work ok?

Also if it is the MAF sensor I have had a look and it seems quite easy to change as its just located at the top of the engine with the air box? She described it being expensive due to labour costs as it is hard to get to - maybe she was thinking of something else? Currently the car drives fine but the engine does vibrate a bit more than expected during idle.

Any ideas or advice would be much appreciated.

cheers
seenan