unsure which A3 to buy?

sean.smithy

Reaction score
I know its a while away but over the next year or so im saving up for an A3 :)

My budget will be between 6-7k id imagine, im completely new to Audi's as come next year i would have only been driving 3 years and currently owning a clio i wouldnt know whats best.

When the time comes id be 20 so i hope insurance wouldnt be a problem.

Just wondering whether to get a 2.0 TDI 170 or if i can find one a 2.0 TFSI, i like the s-line editions of them both.

But for you experienced Audi owners, for my price range what a3 would you suggest?

Many Thanks
Sean :)

the insurance significantly goes down at 21 and 25 im pretty sure. for example my old focus st170, was 3300 when i was 20 to insure and it went to 1700 when i was 22, with only 1more year no claims.
(the 2.0 tfsi cheapest quote is 950/year atm, which i think is great news tbh!)

But in terms of A3, im looking at the 2.0 tfsi, just because i want an S3 and thats out of my price range lol! but depends how often you enjoy visiting the petrol station to get diesel or petrol i guess.

Im unsure on the tuning potential of the diesel 170's, other than the remap what else can you do to get more power? maybe someone can enlighten me.

JJ.

it's just with my price range I'd be looking at 170 tdi or tfsi the mileage would be high, I'd be lucky to find a low ish mileage one?

Tfsi if you want performance, try and get one with Quattro jf your thinking of upping the power! and don't do many miles, but the Tdi is cracking engine, fantastic with a map! Again if you map I'd suggest Quattro to handle the torque, especially in the wet!

I do many miles tbh, I do a 300 mile round trip to England and back quite often so I think the tdi is my best bet, I'd like the 170 bhp one but if I have to settle with the 140 I will, is there much difference? can I get a good tdi in my price range?