JMB RetrofitsAH Fabrications
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TOTE

Thread: Opinions of painting costs?

  1. #1
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    106

    Opinions of painting costs?

    I'm in the middle of fitting S3 parts to my A3 8p3.

    I've just taken the complete side skirts including doors blades that are brand new, rear S3 bumper that is used and needs some prep as well as new parking sensors to be colour coded.

    I've been quoted £500 for just painting the parts. What do you think?

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Ash187's Avatar
    Audi Retrofitter

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North, East, South, West London & Dartford in Kent
    Posts
    6,321

    My Social Networking

    Visit Ash187's Instagram Channel
    over priced in my opinion.
    £100 a part still doesnt come to that cost. i get bumpers sprayed at £80 and thats in London where its known to be expensive. had my whole car resprayed for £650 in b'ham and the work is spot on...
    A3 Sportback 2.0TDI
    Dark Headlining, Bose, Alcantara Leather, Lights Pack

    MODS:
    S3 facelift, 19" RS6, RS3 Grill, TTRS FBMFSW, A5 S-Line Heated Seats, Bi-Xenons, Auto Lights & Wipers, Eibach Sportlines, S3 brakes, Cruise, Pioneer HU, Reverse Camera, OEM Parking Sensors, Auto Folding & Dimming Dumbo Mirrors, LED Tail Lights, S3 Pedals, Tints, Carbon Trims.

    Items for Sale
    Read My Blog & Build Thread


  4. #3
    Jack_tdi's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cumbria, England
    Posts
    281

    Opinions of painting costs?

    Don't think it's too bad if your paying full price with vat and everything. Vat will be £100 of it and if they charge £50 an hour and there may be a days work in the job I can imagine.

    Some one nudged the back of my a3 and I got a bill for 380 only really cracked the paint. I didn't pay that btw it was of there insurance.

    Two of my mates work in the same body shop so they do other paint and body work for me cheap but paint and materials are still usually quite expensive for what you get.

  5. #4
    Jack_tdi's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cumbria, England
    Posts
    281

    Opinions of painting costs?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ash187 View Post
    over priced in my opinion.
    £100 a part still doesnt come to that cost. i get bumpers sprayed at £80 and thats in London where its known to be expensive. had my whole car resprayed for £650 in b'ham and the work is spot on...
    £650 for a full repaint...... That's cheap too cheap almost !?

  6. #5
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    106

    Opinions of painting costs?

    I thought it was a bit expensive to be honest. If it was £500 including fitting I probably would have booked it in. But £500 for painting alone seemed a bit much considering everything but the rear bumper is brand new.

    £650 for a full respray is amazing! It's amazing how much price on paintwork varies.

  7. #6
    Rom
    Rom's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    444

    Re: Opinions of painting costs?

    You get what you pay for with paint.
    People can get cheap work done, from a friend etc. But in the real world, for decent work, it costs.

    You can't really compare cheap blow overs to full resprays. There is a world of difference between masking up and a quick respray, and removing trims, glass etc and doing a full respray.

    How used is the bumper? Any repair work will add to cost.
    VCDS - Hex-Can-USB - Bristol Area
    Toyota Pro Tech - PM me if you need something done!


    2004 A3 TDi Sport
    - Bose, Leather / Alcantaras, Cruise, Eibach Sportlines, S Line Facelift
    Full Paint Correction
    To Do - Lamin X, Tints, Wheels

    Past Cars

    Peugeot 205 Gti Mi16 - Main love affair - Build Thread
    Honda CRX SiR - Short lived - Build Thread
    BMW E46 330d Sport
    Peugeot 306 Hdi DTurbo
    VW Gold MK4 TDi
    Vauxhall Nova SR - First car!


  8. #7
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    106

    Opinions of painting costs?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rom View Post
    You get what you pay for with paint.
    People can get cheap work done, from a friend etc. But in the real world, for decent work, it costs.

    You can't really compare cheap blow overs to full resprays. There is a world of difference between masking up and a quick respray, and removing trims, glass etc and doing a full respray.

    How used is the bumper? Any repair work will add to cost.
    I do a agree that you get what you pay for I've certainly paid a few quid so far getting all the parts together.

    The parts are all off the car thought and the side skirts are new. The back bumper needs a very small amount of plastic welding doing to a 5mm crack at the top then prep and repainting. Does £500 seen right considering what's involved?

  9. #8
    sliced's Avatar
    Drive safe, stay alive.

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,199
    just get it wrapped for about £700.

  10. #9
    Rom
    Rom's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    444
    Im not too sure, ill ask our paint shop tom, but when you think its £75-£125 for most smart repairs, bumper scuffs etc. Thats not a lot really, though maybe on the high side of normal, unless they are a stellar place.

    The side skirts you could get away with not being perfect, but the bumper needs to be spot on.
    Its impossible to knwo what they will do.
    Ive got a bumper im doing at the mo for mine. Lot more work than yours, but i do it all myself (im a Tech, but good at most stuff using my hands tbh)
    Id be looking at the plastic welding, then will need skimming, depending on any other chips, scratches etc, maybe high build and wet flat the whole thing (which gives a better finish imo) then paint.
    Skirts will probably just be scotched and painted.

    That wasnt a dig at you btw Ash, you know i <3 you .
    VCDS - Hex-Can-USB - Bristol Area
    Toyota Pro Tech - PM me if you need something done!


    2004 A3 TDi Sport
    - Bose, Leather / Alcantaras, Cruise, Eibach Sportlines, S Line Facelift
    Full Paint Correction
    To Do - Lamin X, Tints, Wheels

    Past Cars

    Peugeot 205 Gti Mi16 - Main love affair - Build Thread
    Honda CRX SiR - Short lived - Build Thread
    BMW E46 330d Sport
    Peugeot 306 Hdi DTurbo
    VW Gold MK4 TDi
    Vauxhall Nova SR - First car!


  11. #10
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    106

    Opinions of painting costs?

    Thanks for the response guys I've taken it to another approved body shop that did the Mrs car last year and the work was spot on. Ill see what price they come back with tomorrow. At least I can compare the two then.

  12. #11
    Ash187's Avatar
    Audi Retrofitter

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North, East, South, West London & Dartford in Kent
    Posts
    6,321

    My Social Networking

    Visit Ash187's Instagram Channel
    Have a look here for the work done on mine and what I got for £650!
    So since my accident i have done a few things... and what a journey its been!

    Details for the body shop is there too
    A3 Sportback 2.0TDI
    Dark Headlining, Bose, Alcantara Leather, Lights Pack

    MODS:
    S3 facelift, 19" RS6, RS3 Grill, TTRS FBMFSW, A5 S-Line Heated Seats, Bi-Xenons, Auto Lights & Wipers, Eibach Sportlines, S3 brakes, Cruise, Pioneer HU, Reverse Camera, OEM Parking Sensors, Auto Folding & Dimming Dumbo Mirrors, LED Tail Lights, S3 Pedals, Tints, Carbon Trims.

    Items for Sale
    Read My Blog & Build Thread


  13. #12
    TOTE's Avatar
    Just Me

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    102

    My Social Networking

    Add TOTE on Facebook
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash187 View Post
    over priced in my opinion.
    £100 a part still doesnt come to that cost. i get bumpers sprayed at £80 and thats in London where its known to be expensive. had my whole car resprayed for £650 in b'ham and the work is spot on...
    Hi sorry to disturb but i live in London and need my car bumpers sprayed,were can i get them sprayed for £80?
    Thanks
    Sergio
    Lenos likes this.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Cost of painting S3 parts?
    By A3-black in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th October 2012, 08:30
  2. Wing paint cost\suggestions
    By Dibs_h in forum General Automotive Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th February 2012, 19:33
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th October 2010, 22:21
  4. Cost of full roof painted
    By 02audis3 in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th September 2009, 16:04
  5. New Front Bumper Cost To Fit And Paint
    By MingeBlue in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th March 2009, 11:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO