EM TuningAH Fabrications
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    108

    3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    How fast the last 6 months have gone! hope some of you find this 6 month review helpful!

    Engine:
    still awesome. yes the power is anaesthetized but once you get used to it, its great. the sound is just a little too 'throaty' for me but thats a minor gripe and may be specific to my car. fuel economy not too bad. dis shows 27.4mpg which is 3 mpg above my previous un-modified S3 and only 9 less than i got out of my cab diesel.(well worth the trade on smiles per miles) definately feels faster than the S3 and the power more 'useable'

    Dsg:
    Still great. still enjoy using a mix of manual and auto, sport rarely used. on the *very odd occassion experienced slight delays in changing, but not as severe as the pauses described elsewhere on this forum with regard to roundabout approaching (wonder if that problem is more related to the TDi engine?). launch control very rarely used, prefer to stick it in manual and plant the gas pedal. hill roll is a slight annoyance but believe that is fixed on the new models - seems to be worse for me when reversing up a hill, roll forward at least a foot(feels like more too!)

    Quattro:
    whats not to like?

    Interior:
    few minor rattles - mainly the boot problem thats been well documented elsewhere. still like the interior design. I chose the sport config so i could have coloured inlays still glad i did.

    exterior:
    have to say, i like the new sfg, and do think from some angles the front of the 'old' shape doesnt look right. a lot of this is due to the colour in most aspects - mine is mauritous blue, which i still like. my pinion is the sfg looks best in red and old grill looks best is darker colours. originally de-badged i am now serious about getting it badged again, getting sick of people giving me no respect on the road - plus more importantly i think it looks better with (less chavvy i think)

    ride.
    better than the s3. slightly harsh, but thats all. I have rs6 wheels which don't help either(which the girlfriend managed to kerb 3of in one sitting - let that be a lesson to us all!!!!)

    sat nav+tv
    still great. tms would be the icing on the cake - is it out soon? tv rarely used but does come in handy in traffic - or just to listen to while moving.
    some problems with mp3 cards but in the main v good. bose sound is not bad and thats it.

    things i might have done in the future:
    change the glove box outer to lighter shade(i like the two-tone efect on some interiors)
    re-chip if i am brave enough and rumours about dsg box being week dis-proved.
    add an armrest - i miss it.
    re-badge it.
    add dvd player.


    thats it! i get bored of cars very quickly (the cab lasted only 3 months!) and after 6 months i still love to drive it, and look forward to every journey - this has never been known before!!!!

    phew one more thing - just like to wish all my fellow a3'ers happy motoring!!!!

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    Nice write up. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif[/img]

  4. #3
    imported_S_Line
    Guest

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    thats a great write up mate [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

  5. #4
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    320

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    can you give more details on the hill roll problems and how this has been fixed on the new cars?

  6. #5
    JaminBen's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France (ronRonrRRron)
    Posts
    532

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    Great writeup! If boredom does begin to creep up on you, I highly suggest an AMD remap, it still entertains me to no end, even after 10,000 miles.

    Re: the DVD player, on the french forum www.audi-passion.com, there are a few pointers for a DVD installation. Do you want me to find the thread again and link it here with a translation?

  7. #6
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    108

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    that would be great, cheers mate

  8. #7
    JaminBen's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France (ronRonrRRron)
    Posts
    532

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    OK, so the thread is here: "AllroadUSA" 's excellent DVD install suggestions on audi-passion.

    So, according to Allroad, you need a Dietz adapter to feed the RNS-E a video signal, and another Dietz adapter to "lie" to the RNS-E so that the video can be viewed while driving (by the passenger, of course!).

    Oh, and check this forum out too, lots of great info!:
    Nav+ forum!

  9. #8
    Giblet's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    47

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    See my DVD player installation over on TSN: Clicky

    I added the Dietz 1280 "video in motion" yesterday, works a treat. It needs to be switchable as you can't navigate while it's active (fools the car to think you're stationary so doesn't seem to update your position)

    I still have a spare Dietz 1417 if anybody is interested.

  10. #9

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    Does that mean you can watch a DVD whist driving - scarey!

  11. #10
    Giblet's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    47

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    [ QUOTE ]
    Does that mean you can watch a DVD whist driving - scarey!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It's only for the passengers (or traffic jams) [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

  12. #11
    imported_S_Line
    Guest

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    We have 99% traffic jams in Norwich so would be very usefull to watch a DVD, added with the great Bose sound system the audi has, it would be a real treat :~) Lucky git ! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

  13. #12
    JaminBen's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France (ronRonrRRron)
    Posts
    532

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    Gareth, that's awesome!

    Have you used the dash button next to the ESP button to switch the Dietz on and off? TIA

  14. #13
    Giblet's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    47

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    [ QUOTE ]
    Have you used the dash button next to the ESP button to switch the Dietz on and off?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This was my initial plan (I installed the switch, it's still there) but due to the fact that the switch only provides a momentary action I would need to build some kind of latching circuit or flipflop so I didn't bother in the end.

    The DVD player provides a 12v output which is switched when the DVD player is on, so I used that to control the Dietz 1280. Guess it's designed to be used to switch an external LCD, amp or something.

    The only downside is that if I just want the audio from the DVD and leave navigation on it won't update the nav position but that's not a big deal. I may change it in the future to use the switch, if I can be bothered!

  15. #14
    JaminBen's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France (ronRonrRRron)
    Posts
    532

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    Thanks for the details, Gareth. Which switch did you end up using?

  16. #15
    Giblet's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    47

    Re: 3.2Q dsg 6 month review

    [ QUOTE ]
    Which switch did you end up using?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    If you mean which switch did I install into the dash, then it's an Audi official switch, the same type as the ESP button with the front changed to be the same as the "dummy" front.

    As I said though, I didn't use it in the end as the DVD player provides 12v switched when the unit is powered on.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO