Car Key Burglary Prevention

kanecullen89

Reaction score
Hi All,

I've decided to create a post designed around the prevention of car key burglaries. Some of you may know what I do for a living but I come across these often in the Northants area and I know its a nationwide problem.

I don't mean to patronise anyone with the advice that I give but hope that if someone thinks that one of the points could be a good idea, puts it into practice and that prevents someone loosing their pride and joy then i'll be a happy man.

My inspiration came from recently being deployed to an attempt burglary (offenders were disturbed by a dog) where the offenders had completely removed the conservatory door to gain access to the property (victims were in bed) and took a handbag before being disturbed. They were hoping that inside the handbag were the keys to a brand new white Audi A5 which had been delivered to the house the previous day!!
Audi's are without doubt the thieves vehicle of choice at the moment and are being stolen daily via car key burglaries for use in crime or to order.

The following ideas may help to prevent this:
  • Never keeps Keys on display from the outside (shut curtains)
  • Hide main vehicle key inside the house and put spare in a wall mounted safe if possible (about £30 from amazon, lowers home insurance premiums too)
  • Ensure you keep windows and doors locked and keep keys away from the door and not in the lock.
  • Buy the best and most heavy duty locks possible.
  • Try to make access to rear of house as difficult as possible, large gates, fences and bolt locks from inside help.
  • Ensure that sheds, garages and outbuildings are always fully locked and secure and use large heavy duty padlocks (burglars will use tools in your shed to break in to your house).
  • Never leave tools or ladders lying around outside.
  • Sounds silly but lock your car and do not keep spare key in the car (have seen it before!!)