New DSG gearbox after 6700 miles

tiptonjuk

Reaction score
I'm new to posting on here, but I've been reading the forum for a while.

I have just purchased a 3 month old a3 2.0tdi s-line in red, with DSG, which Crewe Audi's demo.

I picked it up on Thursday, and on Saturday contacted the dealer to report a noise coming from the front passenger side of the car.

They booked the car in for Monday, spent the day test driving it, and drinking my diesel.

I picked the car up yesterday eveing, to be told that it needed a new gearbox, as it was making a noise from the Diff.

I'm not really an expert on gearboxes, but surely they shouldn't go after 7k miles.

I'm just concerned that I'm on a slippery slope here.

Has anyone got any experience of this?

Can anyone assure me that this will not happen again once it's been replaced?

Do I have grounds for rejection, or any kind of compensation?

Apart from this, the car is amazing!

Any comments greatly appreciated.

Thanks, and sorry for the long post!

P.S. The car is also in to have some scratch's removed, that appeared in the time that I 1st looked at the car, and picked it up, so my faith in this dealership isn't amazing at the moment.

Sorry to hear uncle.

Out of all the forums I read, I have only heard of 3 or 4 DSG boxes being totally replaced. 1 on a Golf GTI, a couple of TT's and now yours is the first on a A3.

DSG is new technology, so there is bound to be some initial problems. I am sure that manual boxes have to be replaced under warranty from time to time.

Once replaced i'm sure your car will be fine /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

Yep, agree with Japper on this - there are going to be single examples of problems with all components, it's just unfortunate that it's the gearbox in your case.

Try not to let it worry you - but it's difficult not to spend the next 10,000 miles listening for a sound that isn't there!!!

Enjoy the car!

arh - maybe thats why they were very keen to sell me that one too?