Taking my A3 to race.

galsjr

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
My question is in regards to taking my A3 1.6 to race tracks. My main question is what would be the best sports brakes and tyres. Im only just getting started going to tracks, so I dont think ill need anything more than brakes and tyres untill I get more into it. (Tell me if ive missed anything I need).
And if anyone know of any decent tracks around the midlands area, that would be so handy. Ive found Donnington and mallory park but just curious if any of you know of any other decent ones.
Any tips you could give on what I can do to my car would be great. Like I said, im new to this so sorry if this sounds like a stupid question.
Thanks

I don't mean this to sound sarcastic but what about a decent engine? 1600 petrol is hardly track potential? Or do you go around in similar sized engined cars?

Brakes and tyres are a good start, are you using this car purely for track days? If so strip the interior out of it, that will make it lighter.

Yeah I know its not the best of engines to race with, as its not my main car and really dont want to be going through the hassle of selling it, so I thought i'd use it to get a general feel for going to the tracks with, and probably go for somthing with a bit more power later on.
I would probably use it for mixture for road and track but most likely strip it.

What are good brands to use for sports brakes and tyres? I've got a general idea but not 100%

Take this with a pinch of salt, but are you for real?!

Not regarding you car, I've had a 90hp Civic round the 'Ring in under 9 minutes, great fun, but regarding your 'how to build a race car' questions.

Please just go and google "A3 performance parts", view the parts, review your budget, and then after searching the net for answers, if you can't find them (very unlikely), then come and submit a well researched post on here.

I'm not normally this harsh, but please see it from our perspective...

Cheers,

Ryan