Going to sound totally thick but.....

Simmy Storey

Reaction score
will my 55plate audi a3 have a acc position on the ignition? ive just had a pioneer avh 2400bt installed and it wont keep the memory when i turn the ignition off. ive had a read thru the manual and it says the head unit should not be used with cars with no acc position.

I am no expert but back in the day on saxo's etc you used to have to switch the switch lives around. The red going to the yellow and yellow to red if that makes sense. It will be on the head unit side.....

If you have something like this
f0e2ea17.jpg

You need to switch the red and yellows over so they each have a red against a yellow.

Hope this helps...

Si

These cars turn the radio on/off with the cars network known as canbus, so you would need to either have a can module to enable the power iirc or ignition switch it from a fusepoint.

thanks for the help mate, gonna ring the lad who fitted it yesterday n see if he can sort it out

If hes used the correct adaptor then as previously stated its a case of swapping the wires.

I was reading up some threads about head units etc the other day.

Andy someone, (who makes the stealth box things) said that original stereos get the on off signal from the CAN bus. So you can either buy an expensive CAN bus emulator. Or run a switched live from the fuse box.
Think there is a fuse there call Radio S Kont or something similar. Ill see if i can find the thread.

The swapping wires thing is common on vauxhalls etc. Most looms have bullet connectors on the red/yellow to allow this. But if there is no switched feed, this wont help you.

I was reading up some threads about head units etc the other day.

Andy someone, (who makes the stealth box things) said that original stereos get the on off signal from the CAN bus. So you can either buy an expensive CAN bus emulator. Or run a switched live from the fuse box.