AH FabricationsMonster Motorsport
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    70

    Opinions on an R33

    I was offered an R33 skyline (in GTS guise i think) for Ł6000 yesterday. Its 94 L reg, with a supposed '31,000 miles'. Being young, i feel i've got the my 2.0tdi too soon, and could do with some petrol power.

    Obviously the mileage is wrong, so now I'm wondering what I should look out for if i buy it.

    The engine seemed to run fine with no smoke, but the owner didn't seem like someone who would take good care of it.

    Anyone owned one of these? or know of any specific issues? I've heard that cambelt/timingbelt should be replaced every 50k miles.

    Opinions and advice needed please!!

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: Opinions on an R33

    Shresh, might be worth doing a search for a Skyline forum, they'd put you in the know for what is what. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif[/img]

  4. #3
    Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    1,747

    Re: Opinions on an R33

    Jap Crap IMO

  5. #4
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: Opinions on an R33


  6. #5
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    WI Hudson
    Posts
    239

    Re: Opinions on an R33

    [ QUOTE ]
    I was offered an R33 skyline (in GTS guise i think) for Ł6000 yesterday. Its 94 L reg, with a supposed '31,000 miles'. Being young, i feel i've got the my 2.0tdi too soon, and could do with some petrol power.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Get what you pay for mate. If you have ANY doubts about the mileage, WALK AWAY! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif[/img]

  7. #6
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    70

    Re: Opinions on an R33

    cheers for the help tdi, i've seen that forum, but not found much about potential problems.

    i'm feeling a bit of 'jap crap' right now. as its just a weekend car, i just want to have some fun! and it seems a good price, maybe TOO good.

  8. #7
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    WI Hudson
    Posts
    239

    Re: Opinions on an R33

    Flog the TDI and buy a GTI, great residuals at the Mo

  9. #8
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    70

    Re: Opinions on an R33

    well i got a valuation online at Ł17k which is a 6k loss. not worth selling it, so i think my sister might be getting an early birthday present!

  10. #9
    imported_S_Line
    Guest

    Re: Opinions on an R33

    LOL dont forget a GTS is only a bog standard Skyline.

    The R is the proper one.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO