New wheels...Strange noise

MTRL

Split Grill!
Reaction score
I am a complete novice when it comes to tyres/wheels so i would like ASN's oppinion before I take any action tomorrow.

Earlier today I swapped my old stock 17's for some 18" Rs4 with 225/40/18s

have just been out for a test drive and there is what i can only describe as a lub-lub-lub-lub-lub-lub-lub noise coming from one of the rears.

not very noticable untill up to about 40mph and then its just louder than the road noise of the tyres

All tyres are inflated upto 35psi

They have come straingt of a golf and have ballancing weights on already so would they need re-ballancing???

1 tyre is good condition, 3 tyres are not great but still 50k in them.

So...just ballancing????

Thanks.

Very sight kerbing, what you would expect from 2nd hand.

Not that it helps but people always ask for pics so here is a snap i took earlier

DSC02298.jpg

hmmm small kerning may make a small difference get the balancing done or checked out just for peace of mind i suppose , it will also show up if they are buckled too (worst case)

Guy up the road says ballancing at £12 per wheel, is this the going rate.

Think ill just get the rears done as i think the noise is from one of them, then if still there ill get the front done aswell.

everywhere is different mate everyone has different prices , could even be the tyre if its not the balancing but again when they balance them it will show up if they are not fully round , a few things it could be one of them i would have thought good luck finding the problem really annoying when there is something like that

Cheers fran, hope it isnt buckled. But to be fair i ony paid £250 so problems were half expected....ill get me wallet!

could be uneven tread block wear on the tyre, that happened on my golf with bridgestones