Help needed: Changed spark plugs now car won't start

MG

Reaction score
Guys
I need some help please...

I changed the spark plugs this morning, replacing them with identical OEM ones from TPS in Guildford. I connected everything back up and now the car will not start. There is a loud rapid fire clicking noise coming from the coil packs. I could only guess that perhaps the coil packs are not seated properly on the spark plugs causing the spark to spark against the engine casing rather than the plug?

However, I have checked and everything seems to be connected and seated properly - the coil packs certainly won't go down any further. A slightly strange thing that I noted is that the clock inside the car has re-set itself.

I have tried replacing all the old spark plugs in exactly the same cylinder as they came out of but I get the same problem so at the moment I am without a car and kind if need it, certainly for Monday.

I am not technical by any means but I am quite practical and have done my own car and motorbike servicing in the past. This is a simple job, I can't work out what has gone wrong. The coilpacks were newly fitted yesterday but the car worked from the dealer yesterday so assume they cannot be at fault.

Any help will be massively appreciated, I really need to get the car going again!!

Thanks
Martin

1) How much did you tighten the plugs when you reinstalled the new ones (hopefully finger tight + 1/2 a turn at most)?
2) Did you ensure the plugs had the little metal screw caps on the top (sometimes these aren't screwed on and are loose in the box)?
3) If you put a straight edge over the coil packs does it sit level (e.g. they are all correctly inserted to the right depth)?
4) Did you push the coil pack loom back on until you heard the clips 'snap'?
5) Have you reconnected any other clips / electrical connections you may have undone to get to the plugs (maybe MAF)?