Sky InsuranceEM Tuning
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 45

Thread: A3 complaints

  1. #1
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    A3 complaints

    I don't know if im talking out of turn here or indeed expecting too much but i have found that after only 3360 miles and 7 months in my new A3 that I have numerous little cracks creaks niggles and tweeks coming from my interior - it seems to be much worse in the cold mornings when all the leather and plastics in the car are cold but even when warm it definately doesnt seem like 'german perfection' to me - but then perhaps i have sensitive hearing and am expecting too much i dont know. Everytime i pull off in first gear i get a slight crack from the behind me somewhere - little things like this can be quite annoying!


    Steve

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: A3 complaints

    Try Audi customer services on.

    0800 699 888

    Or post this in the dealer disc forum.

  4. #3
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    Re: A3 complaints

    why do i want to post it in another forum? it was regarding my A3 not a dealer lol And i already know the number for customer services and im quite sure there is not much theycan do about this - i was just making a comment that my car has failed to meet expectations in my case which is a shame.

    Steve

  5. #4
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: A3 complaints

    Ok Steve, why don't you tell us what engine and model it is, this may help jog a similiar member.

  6. #5
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: A3 complaints

    Also Steve, this is what the description of the dealer disc is.

    Dealer Discussion
    What you think of a dealership or specialist both for sales and servicing. If you have a compliment or complaint, please raise it here.

  7. #6
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    Re: A3 complaints

    Well i usually do im sorry just in this case engine or spec didnt matter was just a general comment about my A3.

    I really dont remmeber where the dealer part of this thread came from people im sorry - didnt even mention the word dealer in my post

  8. #7
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    Re: A3 complaints

    ???? indeed!

  9. #8
    Ibis S3 Fan Club

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere Cold
    Posts
    1,496

    Re: A3 complaints

    [ QUOTE ]
    Also Steve, this is what the description of the dealer disc is.

    Dealer Discussion
    What you think of a dealership or specialist both for sales and servicing. If you have a compliment or complaint, please raise it here.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    But he wasn't moaning about nor was he complimenting a 'dealer' just his A3.

  10. #9
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    Re: A3 complaints

    thank you japper at least someone has got the idea of this thread! i was kind of expecting replies to contain 'yeh ive noticed this a bit too' or 'you should get it checked out cos my A3 is absolutely silent and has done a trillion thousand miles!' instead i got the customer service number which i already have and an instruction to go to another forum.

    I don't understand why this has thread has got so complicated and sooooo off the point! i thought i was simple enough at the beginning lol

    cheers

  11. #10
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    62

    Re: A3 complaints

    My car makes very loud cracking sounds when I rev it slightly when the engine is cold. But this happens even when the engine is close to 90 degrees, i'll be going to the dealer to get this checked out soon!

  12. #11
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    62

    Re: A3 complaints

    Just noticed your noise is coming from the interior..Sorry, i can't really help, the only noises in my interior is my change :S

  13. #12
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    Re: A3 complaints

    I suspect that a certain amount of 'odd noise' is unavoidable with any car 'expensive or otherwise' as at the end of the day the car moves it goes over bumps, there are unavoidable temperature variations which will cause expanding, contracting of various surfaces - is this a fair comment?

  14. #13
    Ibis S3 Fan Club

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere Cold
    Posts
    1,496

    Re: A3 complaints

    steve184

    I don't have any noticeable creaks other than the rattle caused by the boot floor cover rattling over really rough surfaces. I have cured this by applying 3 velcro strips to the underneath. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

    It all comes down to what is acceptable to you. If the interior rattles continuously over rough roads then I would be very unhappy, but if it's the occasional single creak over a really bumpy road then like you say it's not a Rolls Royce. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

    I am really happy with Audi build quality and never been in a car BMW, Mecedes included that didn't at some point exert a 'little' creak. Hell, my mkiv golf rattled like a good un. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsdown.gif[/img]

  15. #14
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602

    Re: A3 complaints

    "Hell, my mkiv golf rattled like a good un"

    So did mine.
    I had an S plate 5 door 1.8T gti from new.
    I used to openly laugh at the ad that ran around the time I had it.
    One set in the desert where they can't figure out where the squeak is coming from,and it turns out to be the keyring ?
    My Gti had umpteen rattles,most notably from around the passenger airbag area.

    My A4 is three years old and the only interrior noises I get are from the child seat and the umpteen CD cases in the glovebox.

  16. #15
    JaminBen's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France (ronRonrRRron)
    Posts
    532

    Re: A3 complaints

    Steve, TDI-Line was just trying to help...

    Case in point, he asked you to say which model you have as there are some model-specific noise issues, as for the Quattro's rear shock absorbers:

    [ QUOTE ]
    Everytime i pull off in first gear i get a slight crack from the behind me somewhere

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This could definitely be shock-absoreber related, or perhaps you simply forgot something in the trunk? (just jooooking [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img])


    It's always hard to come across clearly in written, on the internet. I am certain TDI took the time to answer your request in the most helpful way possible.

    Cheers!
    -Ben

  17. #16
    Ibis S3 Fan Club

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere Cold
    Posts
    1,496

    Re: A3 complaints

    [ QUOTE ]
    "Hell, my mkiv golf rattled like a good un"

    One set in the desert where they can't figure out where the squeak is coming from,and it turns out to be the keyring ?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Can't remember seeing this one. Can remember the one for the Mk3 where the blonde as a sqeaky ear ring [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif[/img]

    My brother has the MK4 150PD as well and coming from a BMW wasn't too impressed with the rattles. He recalled the advert and wanted to get VAG for trade discriptions. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif[/img]

  18. #17
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    82

    Re: A3 complaints

    My passenger side window/frame/seal??? creaks (well..tick tick) when I go over a 'slightly' uneven road surface. Any cure??

  19. #18
    Ibis S3 Fan Club

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere Cold
    Posts
    1,496

    Re: A3 complaints

    Silicon spray used on the seal to lubricate it should work. Used to have this problem occasionally on my TT, especially over after winter when the seals became a little harder.

  20. #19
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602

    Re: A3 complaints

    Owners with Bose stereos rarely report rattles you know.... [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif[/img]

  21. #20
    Ibis S3 Fan Club

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere Cold
    Posts
    1,496

    Re: A3 complaints

    I can picture it now, pull up at side of nice looking understated Audi resonating enough base to vibrate all surrounding cars, oh look it's bowfer.[img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

    Only down the bouly on a saturday night of course [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif[/img]

  22. #21
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: A3 complaints

    [ QUOTE ]
    Steve, TDI-Line was just trying to help...

    Case in point, he asked you to say which model you have as there are some model-specific noise issues, as for the Quattro's rear shock absorbers:

    [ QUOTE ]
    Everytime i pull off in first gear i get a slight crack from the behind me somewhere

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This could definitely be shock-absoreber related, or perhaps you simply forgot something in the trunk? (just jooooking [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img])


    It's always hard to come across clearly in written, on the internet. I am certain TDI took the time to answer your request in the most helpful way possible.

    Cheers!
    -Ben

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Cheers mate, only try to help. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif[/img]

  23. #22
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Glos
    Posts
    38

    Re: A3 complaints

    Calibos,

    I have this on my 3dr. It looks like the trim panel just touches the window right by the B pillar. I've put a bit of card in there for now. I will try some cloth pad when I can get some.

  24. #23
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    Re: A3 complaints

    well i do apologise i know everyone is only trying to help really

    my car is a 2.0 TDI sport with full leather - the cracking i mentioned from behind me ismore of a plastic crack rather than anything mettalic from the rear suspension (although i am paranoid about this appearing at some point due to the stories ive read on here!) btw i do have bose too and its got to the point where i can have this at any volume and my ears can still tune to the creaks and cracks inbetween quiet areas of music etc + although bose is nice sometimes you ddo just want peace and quiet in the car not crackty crack creak bing bong knock tick crack!

    Steve

  25. #24
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,883

    Re: A3 complaints

    Steve, at the end of the day, you have had your car for 7 months and covered less than 4000 miles. You have probably investigated all areas of your car to wear the the noise is coming from, ie behind seats, laying seats flat, having people seat in the back when driving.

    This cracking noise is not up to standard, and i wouldn't be impressed if it was my car. Maybe i could accept it if i had bought a Kia or Hyundia and the car was rivetted and spot welded together in 2 days.

    Why don't you take it back to your dealer and take them out for a test drive to demonstrate the noises. This maybe more common that you realise. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif[/img]

  26. #25
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    S.E. Essex
    Posts
    152

    Re: A3 complaints

    Steve, you have my sympathies, this is the second brand new Audi I've bought in 2 years and both have left a bit to be desired considering the cost. I'm sure people on here have heard (or seen??) me wingeing before, but the A4 Avant had squeaky front suspension from new. The A3 s/b was silent to begin with, but then developed a drivers door window which rattles like fxxxk. Personally, when I sell this one, which will be sooner rather than later, it'll be the last Audi I buy.
    I don't know, but spending in excess of 20k, seems like a lot of dosh to me. My wife's 2nd hand Focus don't rattle and it was considerably less than that. German cars just aint what they used to be - Mercs are cxxxp apparently, Beemers are just tasteless. Next car will be Japanese, if I can find one that isn't boring, bland and featureless - S2000 - seems to be the only choice...Would also say that having made posts on this forum to ask for comments or compare notes, most get ignored. Majority of posts seem to be people saying "Yay - just bought a new Audi"... or "I've got this incredibly loud stereo..." time to move on...

  27. #26
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139

    Re: A3 complaints

    yeh well perhaps i have too higher expectations i dont know - but i am feeing that at present it is of not much better quality than a vauxhall...

  28. #27
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19

    Re: A3 complaints

    Your only doing 130 mile a week, get out on the road and enjoy it, whats the point of having a car and not using it?

  29. #28
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    371

    Re: A3 complaints

    Mine had a plasticy 'crack' noise when pulling away or going over some 1st gear speed bumps. It was the 'carrier bag hook' in the boot under the parcel shelf rattling on the underside of the shelf. A sticky felt pad from B&Q fixed that.

    Steve B - have you been in an S2000?
    After a 150 mile journey with a friend in his brand new one last summer I ended up deaf with a numb arse (from the car) and a numb hand (from holding the door grip). The bangs / crashes / rattles / 6500rpm @ 95mph / windnoise ( with roof up) were horrendous. Even at 80 we had to yell at each other. Stereo / phone pointless.
    Great for a sunday blast, but a regular car?

  30. #29
    Eeef's Avatar
    Lord of War

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    South Coast, land of the white man
    Posts
    1,602

    Re: A3 complaints

    Exactly my thoughts.

    S2000 was a real contender before I decided on the Audi (along with an Exige but that was even more daft)
    I also needed an element of practicality as it was to be an only car.

  31. #30
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    S.E. Essex
    Posts
    152

    Re: A3 complaints

    Well I know it's going off the point a bit (okay, a lot), but I'm getting to an age where practicality isn't the only issue. S'far as I'm concerned, any ragtop isn't "practical", in that you can't stick a roof rack/box on top, or carry home a flatpack wotnot from Ikea. But my diy days are over (mostly) and my daughter's growing up fast and both parents got 1.5 feet in the provebial.
    So 2 seaters seem like a reasonable option - there's me and the mrs (occassionally). What would you buy, that's realistically affordable?? S2000? RX8? (uses loads of juice and oil), TT? No ta (like I said - no more Audis) Mercs are for (wealthy) hairdressers, (imho), Beemers (especially ragtops) are tarts cars, (am I being a little too opinionated??) Nissan Thingy? Maybe... Alphas fall to bits...the French? Don't be daft...(good at food, not engineering, everyone knows that)....Do like Massers - but...see Alpha..............perhaps a nice new bicycle.......yes a nice new bicycle....(okay lads, he's definitely lost it.....) [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shutup.gif[/img]

  32. #31
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    S.E. Essex
    Posts
    152

    Re: A3 complaints

    Oh yeah, the S2000 sounds bloody fantastic...!!! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_2.gif[/img]

  33. #32
    imported_migzy
    Guest

    Re: A3 complaints

    S2000 a wicked car, depends what ya need it for, high mileage then i wouldn't bother.

    But if ya want a car to thrash around with the roof down in summer, then a S2000 ya one.

    Migzy

  34. #33
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    35

    Re: A3 complaints

    I have a couple of slightly annoying noises from the interior, and they are definately temperature related.

    One is a very occasional plastic crack/rattle from inside, but it's pretty rare.

    The other is a consistent rattle from the glove box release catch. It'll only do it for about 20 mins or so when it's cold at around 1-1.5k RPM, then when the interior warms up it goes away. I've driven an Audi technician around, but obviously it didn't do it when he was there!

    He suggested either getting it to a dealer while it's doing it, or leaving it with them overnight so they can test it in the morning.

    Just need to get round to booking it in. These 20k service intervals are a pain, it's done 9k now so it would normally be due a service anyway!

  35. #34
    Ibis S3 Fan Club

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere Cold
    Posts
    1,496

    Re: A3 complaints

    Is this the interior warming up or the engine warming up so running a little smoother and so not causing so much resonance to the cabin thus rattling glovebox ! deep breath [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

  36. #35
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602

    Re: A3 complaints

    "These 20k service intervals are a pain"

    They do worry me slightly as well,as does the 'long life' oil.
    Of course technology has moved on since we used to change the oil every 3000 miles,but it still worries me.
    If it were my car,and not a company car,I think I would be giving it 'sneaky' oil changes myself.

  37. #36
    Ibis S3 Fan Club

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere Cold
    Posts
    1,496

    Re: A3 complaints

    bowfer,

    If you drive like me then you're going to find that it will be in at 15K [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

  38. #37
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    298

    Re: A3 complaints

    he-he, same here... my "next service", which will be my first, keeps creeping to a lower total mileage every time I look [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

  39. #38
    Eeef's Avatar
    Lord of War

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    South Coast, land of the white man
    Posts
    1,602

    Re: A3 complaints

    I'm tempted to do this on mine. For the cost of a can of oil and a filter it's got to be worth it.

    Just don't like the idea of all that crap floating in the oil being used as a lubricant....

  40. #39
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602

    Re: A3 complaints

    Incredible isn't it.
    Owners wanting to give their cars extra services behind the dealers' backs...
    What a caring lot we are. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/1luvu.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bravo.gif[/img]

  41. #40
    yak
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    377

    Re: A3 complaints

    Well, dream on with 30k .. if that's miles you're talking about [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

    Mine wanted service after 14000km. Short driving, cold starts and such make the distance a lot shorter than the maximum 30000km promised (for petrol engines). So the system works, I'd say [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO