Rear wheel drive Audis?

jungle

Reaction score
Anyone out there know why Audi does not make rear wheel drive cars?

I am well aware of the trade off between space and packaging vs RWD.

However it has occured to me that the only real changes to an A3 Quattro in terms of packaging involve reduced boot space - or is the floor plan changed to accomodate the shaft running to the rear wheels?

If the former, then would it be so difficult to have rear wheel drive? In simplictic packaging terms, wouldn't this just be the same as a Quattro without the front wheels being driven?

Or would the extra torque going to the rear wheels require more substantial mechanicals beneath the floor ie reduced space / packaging?

OR is it some kind of marketing thing - would going RWD be seen as losing face to BMW?

I am not an engineer so would be interested to hear what the score is. It is said that nice as Quattro is, it isn't all that. Having driven RWD cars for some years, I can say the RWD definitely IS all that.

[ QUOTE ]

Audi have been using the 'S' and 'Quattro' badging to promote their top of the range models for a long time now, which all feature 4WD, so a bit pointless making a RWD Quattro lol.

[/ QUOTE ]

So do you mean that going to RWD would be a non starter because of marketing/heritage reasons?

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

Audi have been using the 'S' and 'Quattro' badging to promote their top of the range models for a long time now, which all feature 4WD, so a bit pointless making a RWD Quattro lol.

[/ QUOTE ]

So do you mean that going to RWD would be a non starter because of marketing/heritage reasons?

[/ QUOTE ]

Pretty much, but lets not forget that Audi is in fact VAG, and has a lot of platform sharing with the Audi,VW, SEAT and Skoda all sharing the same chassis, so re-engineering it to RWD for Audi only would not be economical.