Help! Interior swap for leather - how to get the rear door cards out on a 3dr?

Jibaro

Reaction score
Hi all,
I've got a nice full leather interior to replace the cloth in my 3dr A3 2.0TQ, but I've got limited knowledge and skills and I'm having trouble removing the rear door cards / side panels with the rear speakers covers in them. I have done lots of searches but can't really find a full How To on the site or the web for an interior swap, although some posts have been useful particularly the andymac stealth sub instal pdf.

I've removed the rear seat base and seat backs ok. I have started on the passenger side and have been able to detach the panel from most of the clips, but I can't see how I'm to remove the top rear of the panel. The seatbelt goes through a slot in the panel, so am I to unbolt the seatbelt? Do I have to remove the boot side panel covering the sub etc, and the rear parcel shelf surround with the boot light in it? The top of the panel at the back seems to be attached to under the c-pillar trim/roof lining somehow. I've started to damage the panel at the rear edge by tugging at it and it fouling the parcel shelf surround, so I must be doing something wrong!

Is anyone able to post up some elsa instructions - I have bought the discs but had no success loading them on to my laptop with windows 7 :think:

Probably best to get your Elsawin working as there is a lot of trim to come out to get that panel out :-

Side trim (rear)
Removing
Remove A-pillar trim (bottom)
Remove rear seat bench
Remove sill panel trim
Take floor covering out of luggage compartment.
Remove 1/3 section of rear seat backrest
Remove 2/3 section of rear seat backrest
Disengage securing cords from rear lid retainer and pull rear shelf to rear, out of mountings on side trim of luggage compartment.
Remove rear cross panel trim
Remove luggage compartment side trim
Remove outer floor panel anchorage point (rear)
Unclip cover
Remove bolt
Unclip side trim (rear), starting at rear top.