Badger5Chris Nott
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Newbie would like to opinions on a A3 3.2

    Hi everyone,

    I'm new to this site, just found it on the interent earlier. I'll be a brief as I can and would appreciate anyone's input.

    My wife has a '99 A3 1.6 and is looking to upgrade to the new shape, we've looked at a few 2.0 and a 3.2 over the weekend. I have a few questions about the 3.2, the car is beautiful but it has a few problems.

    1) When I drove it, it had the traction control warning light on, pressing the dash button made no difference, the air bag light was on and it had a misfire that happened from about 3000rpm upwards and was accompanied by a EPC light on the dash. The dealer said this was all down to a engine steam clean and he would sort it out, does this sound feasible

    2) Also, the front bumper was sitting a bit proud either side of the front wings, I had a good look around and couldn't see any damage underneath but it looks like somthing has caused a bad fit on the front bumper, is this likely to be a big problem? Apart from this, body is in very good condition, just the front bumper gaps are a bit wrong.

    3) It has some sort of body kit which I have seen on some other 3.2 s line cars but not all of them, this includes front splitter, side skirts and rear skirts, looks really good and not like a boy racer add on, anyone know if this was a factory option or not.

    I really want to know if I should buy it or not (obviously after the misfire and air bag have been fixed) mileage is just over 100k but price is good.

    Thanks

    James


    What do you think?

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    cecilthesausage's Avatar
    ...It's Never Finished...

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Teesside
    Posts
    933
    Sounds like it's been in a crash or been wrote off, have done a HPI check on it ?

  4. #3
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    St Helens
    Posts
    310
    it seems like there is history in this car .... please check everything and make sure the car is HPI clear othewise you may be bitten on the arse . if you do buy it make sure the light are not on when you complete the deal and any other descrecpancies you may have with it. but IMO it looks like it may of have a accident of some sort with a bad body repair and lights being on
    Audi A3 2.0 TDI S-line --- Full Leather, Reverse Sensors, Interior Light Pack, Privacy Glass, Bose, Climate Control, 18" S-Line Wheels
    Mods --- 19" RS4 Wheels, RNS, Cd Changer + Glovebox, Bluetooh (RNS Upgrade), Leather Armrest, Front Splitter, Gloss Black Grille

  5. #4
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    The dealer did an HPI check whilst I was in his office, everything came up completely clear, and I certainly wouldn't hand over any money unless all the lights were off.

    Am I right in thinking all the lights come on when you first turn the ignition on, just want to make sure dealer doesn't "fix" the fault by taking the warning bulbs out?

    Is it worth getting a professional inspection done?

  6. #5
    3.2 Ju's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,204
    It'll be the votex kit that's fitted to the car, these were optional up to around 55 plate when the s-line exterior styling came out.
    As for the other problems I doubt the steam clean caused the problems so it needs a little bit more diagnosis and definately needs a full scan IMO. The main thing to look out for is the dreaded timing chain stretching, listen out for a rattle down the gearbox side of the engine, this can also be checked with a scan but tbh you'd have to be a brave man to take on a 3.2 with that sort of mileage and the potential expenditure!
    S3 Sportback S-Tronic

    Previous
    2010 R36 Saloon in Biscay Blue
    2008 Red S3
    2005 A3 3.2 quattro S-line Sportback dsg Avus silver
    2005 A3 3.2 quattro Sport Sportback dsg Black


  7. #6
    edition's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,417
    Mine used to get the traction control light coming on and it wouldnt go off. Car would also idle badly when this did happen. After a while turned off it would go away.

    Weirdly it only ever did it engine braking in traffic..........

    Never did sort that issue!
    For Sale :Set of Black Rear carpet Mats P.M. for a Price

  8. #7
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    67
    Panel gaps would bother me, may just be a case of someone has removed the bumper. Kit would be the Votex, not bad but some may be put off. Mileage is a personal thing, I bought a 75k mile 3.2 in November as long as it has a full service history it should be ok, yes there is a possibility of chain issues but I've heard of it on 50k cars too. AA or RAC inspection will cost loads, maybe try for 12 months warranty instead?! How much is it on for?

  9. #8
    paddy's Avatar
    Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    5,135
    To be honest my chain went at 40k miles. If this one has got to 100k then its probably alright. do keep in mind that if it has a chain problem it will write it off effectively.

  10. #9
    Sarah's A3's Avatar
    MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cheshire to Perth AU
    Posts
    5,923
    Remember not all accidents are recorded if they are privately repaired so wouldn't always show on a HPI. Mileage wouldnt bother me, as Paddy shows, chains can go at any. Just make sure you do thorough checks, these cars can be expensive when things go wrong! But on the flip side, brilliant too!


    Mauritus Blue 3.2 V6 S Line Quattro DSG Xenons Sunroof Leather Sat Nav/Changer/TV/Text W8 & Int Light Pack Dark H/Lining Tints PDC S3 Kit '11 Rears Sachs/Eibachs & more... Build Thread

  11. #10
    FranA3's Avatar
    events moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    south wales
    Posts
    7,124
    firstly the 3.2 is a peach of an engine i would love to own one ive driven a good few of them and was impressed with the smoothness of the power delivery that you would only get with a v6 not a turbo car and as said panel gaps could be down to something very simple or something much worse try and say to the dealer to get that sorted as well as the lights i know dealers are doing anything to make a sale at the mo i should know i work for one lol 100k on a petrol car isnt that bad as long as its all good service wise and the dreaded chain problem has been done
    ​She is back on the road yay!!

  12. #11
    Ash B's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    5,808
    I'd not buy it if it had any of those issues or if i thought it was damaged as said. If the car had a bump and they have not claimined it wont bring anything up on the HPI. Go have a look at another 3.2 with less or none issues at all.
    Doesnt sound like your too confident about it anyway. As Ju said its a votex body kit and you mostly seem them on the 3.2 and optional extra from factory
    Dark Vader Half sibling - MyThread

  13. #12
    FranA3's Avatar
    events moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    south wales
    Posts
    7,124
    i have the votex rear on my car is this the bodykit you are on about
    ​She is back on the road yay!!

  14. #13
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Yes, it looks like that at the rear without the black inserts. It also has matching sideskirts and lower front spoiler. I really like them.

    The price is 6k and I can get a 12 month AA warranty for 130.

    Fact, I won't buy it if the warning lights are still on, but the dealer has said he will put it through the garage, service and MOT it and fix any faults if I want it. He'll give me my depoist back if he doens't fix the faults and will give me a good price for my wife's car.

    Engine problems aside, the car is in mint condition apart from the front bumper, has full main dealer history and looks the part.

  15. #14
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Here's a link so you can look for yourself.

    You can't see the bumper gaps in the pictures, but I've just noticed there are no stickers on the front/slam panel under the bonnet. I presume there are supposed to be some and this means it may have been replaced and it isn's just a car park bump that has caused the bumper gaps.

    2004 AUDI A3 3.2 V6 Quattro Sport

  16. #15
    paddy's Avatar
    Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    5,135
    I would take your post code off that add if it is yours.
    Other than that it looks very nice. Not particularly cheap.

  17. #16
    FranA3's Avatar
    events moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    south wales
    Posts
    7,124
    Quote Originally Posted by paddy View Post
    I would take your post code off that add if it is yours.
    agreed on this
    ​She is back on the road yay!!

  18. #17
    FranA3's Avatar
    events moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    south wales
    Posts
    7,124
    it does look a nice car but they say its got 17" wheels when they are s-line 18's lol sorry had to point that out
    ​She is back on the road yay!!

  19. #18
    3.2 Ju's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,204
    Does look a nice car and spookily another member was looking at it last month as discussed HERE
    S3 Sportback S-Tronic

    Previous
    2010 R36 Saloon in Biscay Blue
    2008 Red S3
    2005 A3 3.2 quattro S-line Sportback dsg Avus silver
    2005 A3 3.2 quattro Sport Sportback dsg Black


 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO