iPod Connection

sueldoc

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this so please go easy on me :blush:

I am awaiting delivery of a new A3 Sportback Sline 170. I have added the iPod connection as an extra but was just wondering if you could give me a brief overview of how it actually works. Also, I have an iPod Touch 3rd Gen, is this compatible?

Thanks

i believe it's compatible.

you need to give a bit more info. what head unit do you have?

also welcome to the forum, and congrats on your new purchase

Thanks for your reply and the welcome! It is the standard concert radio system.

It basically fools the Concert Radio into thinking a 6-CD changer is attached. Unfortunately, no track names will appear on the stereo, just track 01, 02, 03 etc.

CD numbers 1 -5 are available for playlists that sync from iTunes, i.e. name them "1 Playlist", "2 Playlist" etc so they appear in the same order as the on the Concert. CD number 6 basically plays everything on the iPod.

Your latest iPod will work , but not charge, - you will need an adapter ( such as Scosche Passport Charging Adapter for the iPod Nano 4G: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics ).

Hope this helps

hi there you also have to press play on your ipod to which tracks or album you want to hear as said above it shows track 1,2,3,4,5,6 which is the first tracks on your ipod every time you start car ,,well that what my concert stereo does and you can change tracks on sterring wheel if you have this option .. would love a rnse but not sure if this shows full menu of tracks from ipod,iphone etc...

hi there you also have to press play on your ipod

Eh?? Once it's plugged in you shouldn't have to touch the iPod. Mine was in the glvoe box plugged in for about 8 months without me touching it once. Should all be controlled through the HU.

Yep, same here with the Audi OEM one. Some 3rd party ones allow human interaction though, but yes, you shouldn't need to.