What's this sound (2.0TFSi Quattro)

~RS~

Reaction score
Was @ a showroom yesterday to test drive a 2.0TFSi quattro. It hadn't been warmed up before being driven and upon lifting the bonnet I heard the a strange sound coming from the alternator side of the engine bay.

I'm a complete newb when it comes to mechanics, so haven't a clue if it's something bad or something easily fixed like a belt change. Any help would be cool. It seemed to drive fine, but it was a short cruise as was at one of those car supermarkets. Sales man didn't have a clue either as to what it maybe, just wanted to assure me it could be sorted pre buying it.

I'll try and attach the vid, dodgy quality but sound is good enough, this was when it was first started from cold. Excuse the camera moving all over the place I was trying to identify where the sound was coming from.

I test drove a S3 that did that, exactly the same. It got better when it was warm but i didnt fancy it to be honest. Only 2000 miles as well. Water pump ?

Sounds like a pully or bearing noise of some sort. In this very cold weather all sorts of strange noises can be expected.

These engines do make some funny noises, whilst I was checking out a mates 8P S3 & doing mods for him, his was making some noises same area & also on a new MY10 I heard same area noises, reminds me of the old clicking noise of the 8L S3 I had, perfectly normal, think was something to do with charcoal filter or something or other, but never caused me an issue.

Thanks 4 the replies. Might have 2 give it a miss if i cant work.out the cause. Pita trying to get a decent spec 2.0TFSi with pan roof! Interesting some of you have heard it B4 so many common faults/ issues with these A3's!