Rear wiper problem

Wozski

Reaction score
The wiper is working but no water is coming out to clean screen. Any ideas?
thanks

The wiper is working but no water is coming out to clean screen. Any ideas?
thanks
Read all the threads about this problem you need to keep them clean!!!!! clean out with a pin if still the same the pipe may be off

Mike where should be looking?
When i tried it for along time water started to come from the front wipers.........

The weather has been exceptionally cold for a long time ( I have a degree in stating the bleedin' obvious ! ) so chances are that unless you had at least 50/50 mix of water and washer fluid then it will have frozen.

Before the weather gets bad again fill the bottle with that mix. Make sure that the front washers work first time, every time and then try the rear washer. Obviously you can make sure the jets are clear with a pin but I assume they were working ok before the big freeze.?

If it doesn't work then you need to check in the boot that no water is appearing unexpectedly because if it is then it's likely that the pipe has popped off .

Only way to sort that is to remove the boot lid card and replace the pipe.

It's a common fault on A3's apparently although, touch wood, I have been lucky so far !!!

Pull the cap off the wiper arm and you can take off the little nozzle off to clean and unblock.

Thanks mike i have just been out with my torch and tried the washer again -guess what... water started to pour from the front of the engine bay.
Further inspection there seems to be a pipe that has blown - this is where i get ******. The pipe is a big chunky one approx 1-2" in diameter.
Water is splurting out of it ( this pipe is right by the timing belt )
Any idea what this pipe may be and how easy it is to replace??
thanks

Now, be honest mate, you only had water in the washer bottle didn't you ?!!!!