Living with an 8P A3.

Johnny5

Reaction score
Hello.

Hopefully soon to be getting my first VAG, the car im after is around a 2006 A3 2.0 TFSI

Just wondering what they are like to live with, as an everyday car...
Hows fuel consumption if driven sensibly?
What do you love about yours and what do you hate?
How does the 2.0tfsi engine respond to tuning?

Im a full time mechanic with full workshop facilities, tools, oils & fluids, tec info etc at my disposal so maintenence & modifications are no issue, and i get anything i want from suppliers (both main dealer and motor factors) at trade price (including tyres).

Good friend of mine owned a spanking new, white, A3 S-Line 140tdi with all the options (inc the lambo steering wheel) and it was fantastic.

Any info much appreciated

Johnny

hi there,

i recently bought a 2.0T (about four months ago) having owned a 1.6 for about 5 years. both were 3 door models.

as an every day car, the 3dr isn't the most practical. rear space is alright, but i'm 6' 2" and i only just fit behind myself if i adjust the seat for my driving position. i can't comment on the sportback.

fuel consumption is quite varied. some people report as much as 40mpg on long runs. i've struggled to get more than 35mpg, tho i've not done a true economy run yet. on my commute i get an indicated 25mpg on average.

on balance i love the car. the performance is very good, the handling is quite good as well now i've given the car a set of coilovers (it's a little wallowy even in S-Line trim as standard). it looks very good, the cabin is a nice place to be and it's all built very well.

however the car goes through oil quite a bit. i've owned the car for 4 months and 7k miles and i've used about 2 litres of oil. as said above the handling isn't stellar as standard either, and options are pricey.