Metallic Rattle

chrisb72

Reaction score
Over the last couple of weeks I have noticed a metallic rattle coming from underneath my car in the drive shaft / exhaust area. It only tends to happen under cold start ups and under very slow speeds when pulling away.

I'm hoping it's something just come loose, but I'm no expert.

My car is S-Tronic if that sheds any light on matters.

Try parking between 2 walls/cars/whatever will make the noise more obvious, then putyour foot on the brake and go between drive and neutral,

Does the noise come and go between drive and neutral? Ive noticed mine doing the same lately, it goes when I put the car in neutral...

Could be the heatshield? I had this on my last car (Mk IV GTI) - only ever did it on the same occasions that you mention.

I'm hoping it's something minor as it drives fine once on the go.

The only other thing I've noticed and not sure this is related, but I sometimes find changing gears in semi auto mode is a bit snappy / clunky and to get the ultimate smooth change I have to stick to D mode. I've come from a manual so I prefer to drive it in semi auto mode to feel more in control of what the car is doing, but it's much smoother in D. Is this just normal s-tronic behaviour?

Might get the local stealer to have a look or if it's just the heat shield I might just take it to the local independent garage.

Try parking between 2 walls/cars/whatever will make the noise more obvious, then putyour foot on the brake and go between drive and neutral,

Does the noise come and go between drive and neutral? Ive noticed mine doing the same lately, it goes when I put the car in neutral...

Did this test this morning during a cold start. The cold start didn't produce the noise today, but I did hear it during the gear changes you suggested. I then tried going between N and R, but didn't notice it as much. However I did hear it as I lifted off and on the accelerator as I carefully reversed off my drive.