Quattro TDI advice needed

got-vtec

Reaction score
hey guys ive recently been looking at an audi a3 tdi 2.0 s-line to buy and ive also just seen the quattro model i believe they are 4WD,

do you guys have any advantages and disadvantages of the quattro system?
should i just go for a standard s-line or is the quattro even better?

any advice is apreciated as im new to audi's thanks.:sob:

I've had my 2.0tdi 170 Quattro for just over a month now and loving it. It's returning better mpg than my 2.0 tdi 140 Golf did which i was really suprised by!

well i dont have any specific needs, i just need a 2.0 economical diesel with power when i put my foot down,
the trim level i need, but 4wd or not im not so sure about, b19ctr im also surprised by that,

b19 hows the power when you need it?
and also how does the steering feel compared to a normal front wheel drive

Theoretically speaking the Quattro would obviously benifit from more grip over its FWD counterpart. Bare in mind the Quattro system on the A3 is NOT perminant, and for normal driving pace the car is FWD (Or so I've been told).

A down side to having the Quattro system is obviously the weight. So the 4WD car will weigh a little more than a non Quattro one, also I'm told there a little less frugle than there FWD counterparts.

I can't confirm nor deny any of this though, but I'm sure someone one here can.

Haldex cars are permanent 4WD ( 90 front 10 rear minimum ) but under braking the haldex system disengages and the car brakes like a FWD car. $WD car are great if you want to boost the power past 200 bhp,drive on country roads or muddy/snowy conditions.

best reason to buy the quattro over the fwd model is a t junction on a hill on a damp greasy day at rush hour.with quattro you KNOW you can pull out and have the grip but with fwd even with decent tyres you generally will get wheel spin

Hey Joe