How can I tell if my A3 2.0TFSI is a quattro?

Minstadave

Reaction score
I'm no car expert and need a little help, bought a 2005 2.0TFSI a couple of weeks ago but having been told its a Quattro I'm now not certain I've been told the truth. It has a quattro badge on the rear, but not having a glovebox or front quattro badge has made me suspicious.

Looking underneath I can't see an obvious diff and the only thing that runs the length of the car is the exhaust, can't see a prop shaft.

In this thread:

http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?37592-A3-difference-between-quattro-and-turbo-sport

It suggests the exhaust silencer is orientated differently, my rear silencer runs side to side, not front to back, and the exhaust is routed under the passenger side rather than down the centre under the rear half of the car.

Any tips on what I should be looking for? Thank you!

Get down under the car and see if it has a rear diff etc. Also wrong section mate, this is the 8l not 8p section.

Would it not tell you in the log book also?

Ooops, will ask a mod to move, thanks. If I take a picture would it help?

go drive on some grass and accelerate like a loon......open the door while doing so and have a look at the rear wheels if they are spinning......it would be easier to just have a look lol

you can go onto the DVLA website and enter the reg number, it will then come up with the model

no prop shaft = no quattro. Its quite obvious if you look under.

Should be dead easy to check that it's quattro!
Prop shaft front to back - look underneath or down back of engine
Rear drive shafts and diff - Easy to tell from underneath
Raised boot floor - quattro is a lot shallower for obvious reasons
Badging - easy to add to rear but should also be on glovebox and grill if non S-line.

Sounds to me like you've been had tbh, should be very easy to see all the mechanicals underneath!

If its not Quattro then its worth a lot less.