Small short rattle in low revs

YTL2000

Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone knew what was rattling when I press the accelerator. It only seems to happen at low revs, doubt anymore than 2k - 2.5k and is not specific to turning or gear. I have a feeling it could be a heatshield somewhere but as I am new to my A3, I wanted to know if any one has experienced this before and what they found the problem to be?

Cheers!
Tom

I was wondering if anyone knew what was rattling when I press the accelerator. It only seems to happen at low revs, doubt anymore than 2k - 2.5k and is not specific to turning or gear. I have a feeling it could be a heatshield somewhere but as I am new to my A3, I wanted to know if any one has experienced this before and what they found the problem to be?

Cheers!
Tom

Yes I have the same issue at the moment it really bugs me. I jacked the car up today but I couldn't really get at it so when its in for its service I will get my mechanic to check it out. I just hope its the heat shield and not the cat itself.

mine had a rattle the other week.been doing my head in for a while, turned out it was the pipe from the turbo to the charge pipe.standard jubilee clips are rubbish.would of never found it, but there was a small amount of oil around the edge

Is there a rattle on startup?
also does it soung like its coming from the top of the engine?

I had a rattling/grunting noise on my s3 at around 2000 rpm and it was the cam chain tensioner. The oil pickup pipe gets blocked and restricts the flow of oil. Itl kill the engine if the pick up pipe gets really badly blocked but i think you usually get a low oil pressure warning light before it gets to that stage.

Hi,

Mine has literally just started making a similar noise this morning.