A3 1.8T Thermostat!

AudiiduA

Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here!having picked up my new car tonight i notice while normal driving the temp gauge is just over 60 degrees,hardly moved at all, but in traffic came up to 90 and stayed there untill i started moving again! could this be the stat? how much are they and are they an easy DIY?
Thanks in advance fellas!
Lee:icon_thumright:

Hi,

Mine does this. I had the water pump replaced as normal with the timing belt and I got my garage to check the stat. There was nothing wrong with it so they told me not to worry. More likely the sender unit I'm told so may get that done eventually. As long as I know the engine is actually keeping temp ok I don't mind it at the moment.

cheers.

Hi,

Mine does this. I had the water pump replaced as normal with the timing belt and I got my garage to check the stat. There was nothing wrong with it so they told me not to worry. More likely the sender unit I'm told so may get that done eventually. As long as I know the engine is actually keeping temp ok I don't mind it at the moment.

cheers.

With the engine running so cool, wouldnt that affect economy? all your fueling would be running richer for more of the time and thats gotta be bad?

As long as I know the engine is actually keeping temp ok I don't mind it at the moment.

cheers.
how do you "know" that? the gauge is only going to 60

Auduudua is correct. the car ends up running rich

mine also does this, but only started after i got the water pump/cambelt! i was also going to change the thermostat for peace of mind!

Thermo change is an easy DIY job.

Buy one and a gasket from Audi - not that expensive (I forget how much).

Remove engine covers. Remove metal part bolted to the underside of inlet manifold (connects to the dipstick pipe*).

Drain coolant from engine using tap on radiator bottom hose.

Release tensioner for aux belt using a 15mm spanner and small allen key (acts as a pin) to lock tensioner.