Help Power Loss (Quite Long Post)

ScottyKemp

Reaction score
Evening All,

Got a problem with the power in my S3. Strange one really, sometimes the car will go completely flat and feels like the turbo is not kicking in and it will stay like this for only a couple of minutes then the boost will kick in very strongly again, also get some poping from the exhaust sometimes.

I took it to Audi to have look at and they blamed it on the couple of holes i drilled in the airbox (silly i know but LIKED the noise /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif) saying it is losing turbo boost through there ! I am not a mechanic but how can you lose boost through an airbox ?

I went back in to Audi this evening and got one of the mechanics to run the VAG-COM thing on it, he said it is not boosting properly something about "Boost/Air Flow Suppression"

He said it is likely to be the MAF or A BOOST VALVE sensor, anyone any ideas, did not think the MAF sensor would effect the boost levels, but i am no mechanic !

Also it is going to AMD on friday for a remap /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif, would this cause problems for the remap ? If so do you know if AMD keep these parts on the shelf just in case ???????

Typical though, Audi warranty runs out tomorrow and they tell me it has a problem now and but could not find it last week on the AVS service, when i told them about the ruuning problem !

Thanks
Scott

Hi Scott, AmD will run a full diagnostic on your car before the remap mate, they tend not to like remapping cars which are not running properly. I needed a new MAF sensor when I had my remap done, couldn't believe the amount of throttle response I was missing out on!. And yes, they should have all these parts on the shelf, but I'd try to get the stealer to cure the car beforehand, as they obviously know of the fault before your warranty ran out.