ESP Light stays on!!!

jordan m

Reaction score
Hi all, a newbie here and really need some help!!! I have a 2002 225 bhp model S3.
A recent MOT showed I needed new friont and rear brake pads and passenger side CV joint replacement. Basically the tracking was out and there was some 'play' in the left front wheel when the car was on a ramp.
Yesterday, in the damn ice and snow, I hit the left front side into a kerb at about 5-10 mph when trying to turn a corner. The result was the tracking is even more out, so I have to hold the wheel a quarter turn to the left to keep the car straight. The wheel also looks like it is too far back under the wheel arch.( The front right wheel is almost in the middle under the arch so the wheel has almost the same space either side of the arch). So the left wheel that was hit is not centre, but looks further back then middle under the arch and rubs now when I full lock the car left or right. The handling was awful too, so I presumed I had further damaged the CV joint that needed replacing anyway.
This morning the ESP light has come on (just ESP not ABS light) and stayed on and will not go off, either by pressing the button or turing the car off, as when I stop and start the car, the light still remains on. What I need to know is does anyone think it could be the CV joint that is making the ESP light stay on??
I dont fancy going to the stealers to get ripped off!!
Any help would be much appreciated please....!!
Thanks guys!

Hi and welcome to the forum...

Firstly, are you sure you haven't bent anything? For the tracking to be that out and especially after your described tangle with a curb it sound plausable that something could be bent and you really need to get that sorted out...