Fault with auto gearbox on 1.8 sport

• Thread starter imported_forteeneight
  • Start date
I

imported_forteeneight

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of Audi and I'm loving it so far apart from a small fault.

I've just bought a 1997 A3 1.8 sport and I'm having problems with the automatic gearbox. It drives perfectly but occasionally will stop changing up through the gears unless the revs reach the 6000-7000 mark. I've taken it to 2 garages, one of which carried out a full service on the gearbox, and neither has found any problems. I'm just wondering if anybody else has experienced anything similar.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

hi,
i have a 1.6 auto A3 1997. i read the manual, and found it had something called a dynamic shift box (think thats what its called). basically it adapts to your driving, ie if you are driving hard, or are constantly pressing the acc down and braking and pressin acc down again, it will change to sports mode, where it will hold the gear for a lot longer, mine will sometimes hold unitl 5000-6000rpm before shifting to the next gear, yours could be higher cos its a 1.8 and sport. you'll probably notice that when you start using the acc more softly, pressing it gently, and not all the way down, it will change back to normal mode, where the gears will change a lot quicker, at about 3000-4000rpm. have a look at your manual, it will explain it much better.

Thanks
I did think it could be something to do with the mode you're talking about but it seems to happen at different times regardless of how I'm driving. Last time it happened I managed to nurse the car home and it was still having problems when I started it up an hour later.