Badger5Sky Insurance
    6th Gear

Status

S4/RS4 Rear disc conversion kit,

After looking at my rear brakes through the wheels ive been thinking could i help my poor stopping power by looking at these too?
    I have noticed from time to time a guy an Ebay lists a 300mm (ish) rear disc set up for the 8l S3 , I wish i had saved the link but... its basicaly a pair of rear RS4 discs i think he said although i think they turned out to be S4 items re drilled to 5x100 pcd and a mounting bracket to space your rear calliper out to the correct diameter.
    The before and after pictures did look realy good and like factory but better ( which i like) but does anybody think this would work?
    The kit was about 300 pounds, I am a CNC programmer/ setter so making the discs and even the braket seems not too taxing an option...
    Noggy Blue 2001 S3

I ask questions because i change my mind so much. If i ask questions you have already covered... just leave it be?

2. # ADS
    ADS

5th Gear

Status
    I cant see why it wouldn't work paul. Bigger discs with a machined spacer to bring the caliper out makes perfect sense.

I once had an RB5 on which i purchased Peter Solbergs actual Alcon calipers from his then WRC car. Bought them off someone local to me after a visit to prodrive, paid around 900 for a 335mm disc, spacer for the caliper and the titanium one piece 4 pots.

The brakes were loud/sqeeky and rattled as the pad had no spring mechanism to tension the pad and stop it from moving about a few mm inside the caliper but boy did they work. Best brakes on a car i've ever used. When i had them fitted i had to do an emergency stop to test them, the back end of the car almost (felt like) it lifted off the floor. Needless to say i had some rears done shortly after! LOL

I'd be interested in the progression of this, think the S3 standard setup is crap! You could be the one to change that for a reasonable price!

G

HTC
    6th Gear

Status