VAG COM leads

Tim20

Reaction score
Hello,

IM fairly new to Audi ownership and specifically using a laptop to diagnose problems with my car. Im an old school VW man at heart and they didn't need fancy computers just good old fashioned spanners

Im looking to buy a VAG COM lead to run the free version of the Ross tech web site.

Can anyone recomend a lead to use, anyone got experience of the ebay ones??

My car is a 1998 1.8t AUG A3 sport if it makes any difference

Tim

vag tacho mate does so many things ,

program new keys check codes do so much more than vagcom

you can check error codes with vag tacho? really? can you edit channel values and change coding? can you connect to all ecu's on the car? how good does it work? I would have to disagree that it does so much more as vag-com has much better support and usage on the forums and its ease of use with label files.

Anyway back to the question ive bought one from ebay i got cheapest available and has done me fine for a good few months so far. Once you buy it though you will want to buy original, as the software updates and support is very good. It costs £260 ish though.

IMO its a good starting point and worth getting to grips with before you commit to the full version.

Vag com is excellent and is very handy IMO is the best tool around

Yes both are just as good :) Mine arrives tommorro

What version are you getting? as i have done a bit of research (read the vag tacho manuals etc etc) and i dont believe it will do anywhere near as much as vag-com. But does have good stuff (SKC etc) which is why im getting one.

When you get it please reply to my previous post to what it can do. As i think thats a massive statement which i have never read elsewhere lol