Different turbo without remap

HTC

Reaction score
Website
www.b3ta.com
I have been offered a KO3 sport turbo at a good price. I'm assuming that this is a direct swap for my KO3 that I have on my 150bhp A3.

I'm a mechanic so I can fit it myself, but would the car be drivable without a remap, or would the ECU complain?

I'm planning to get the map sorted, but obviously I need to drive the car to wherever I choose to get it chipped.

Also, is this a worthy swap. How much extra would I get over a remaped standard turbo engine?

Thanks.

[ QUOTE ]
HTC said:
I have been offered a KO3 sport turbo at a good price. I'm assuming that this is a direct swap for my KO3 that I have on my 150bhp A3.

I'm a mechanic so I can fit it myself, but would the car be drivable without a remap, or would the ECU complain?

I'm planning to get the map sorted, but obviously I need to drive the car to wherever I choose to get it chipped.

Also, is this a worthy swap. How much extra would I get over a remaped standard turbo engine?

Thanks.

[/ QUOTE ]

The turbo *may* not be a straight swap, as the exhaust side is from a K04, so maybe different to the standard K03. Also, it wouldnt be a great idea to run a different turbo on a map that wasnt meant for it.

Rich

I wouldn't be driving for long. 2 hrs max. Basically, fit the turbo, and then straight to the tuning centre.

If its gonna cause damage, then I'll have to get it there on a trailer as there is no point in me spending extra on the fitting as I do all that myself (unless the fitting is cheaper than the trailer of course!!)

I didn't realise the exhaust side was different. I'll look into that one.

I don't see any problem in fitting a larger turbo on a standard remap, and expect that you will see very little difference between the two once fitted...you just will not be making the most of the K03S.

I would of thought the housings are the same, which is why they are in the K03 category rather than the K04, but that's just a guess.