Traction control not working !

stevess3

Reaction score
The traction control isn't working on my s3 its a 2000 model, I have a warning light on the dash that dosen't ever go off ? The esp button makes no difference when pressed

This car has been in a hedge but suspension etc are undamaged what is the likely cause ? a sensor ?

Yeah I had this on mine for a short while. The first time it happened I had left my MAF unplugged. VAGcom has found a fault with my MAF so the second it was plugged in but went away after a while. Have you got VAGcom?

Sorry whats vagcom ? i'm new to audi's !

where can i find the maf sensor ?

i got the same problem mines almost always on, ive been told the sensor is stupid expensive so im leaving mine for the time being, think its the laterial acceleration sensor (g200) and its located under the steering wheel to the right i think.

Vag-Com is diagnostic software for all VAG cars www.vag-com.com

Its the same stuff the dealers use and charge you £50 a time for the privilige!!

Where are you based?

I'm far down in cornwall !

I'll have a look for that sensor and check out that site

How much is the software ?

first clicky doesn't seem to work for me ?

is it worth getting the software and i guess a comms lead if your an audi owner

Do some research first mate. The prices are on the website, and the genuine stuff is around £200 iirc, but thats only 4 or 5 visits to Audi, so depends how flash youre feeling.

You can get copy leads on ebay though.

It may be worth buying then, I'm guessing that in a couple of years it will pay for itself ?
These s3's are far more complicated than i first thought, anyway before i start buying software i need to attend to soem other problems first

Thnaks for all your help !