Hybrid blow-off valves

chief

Reaction score
Hi, a new A3 t owner here;
Would someone please advise where in the uk I can get a hybid valve as described below please, I found this info on http://www.amtuning.com.au/
GO FAST BITS Hybrid blow-off valves overcome the problem by venting most of the non-required intake pressure into the atmosphere, while a small portion is vented back to the turbo and airflow meter-enough to stop problems such as excessive fuel use, backfiring and engine shudder at half acceleration (experienced with purely venting-to-atmosphere valves).

Cheers guys

Actually I think the OEM one is entirely closed loop isn't it? i.e. non of the pressure is vented to atmosphere and it all runs back into the intake which is why it's called a diverter valve not a dump valve which is what Scoobys have.

[ QUOTE ]
Alex Stanley said:
I'm not an expert when it comes to these things, but I think that's what we have on the 1.8t already...

[/ QUOTE ]

Well not quite. 1.8T have a Diverter valve so that all the air gets re-circulated back through the intake into the turbo. Problem with BOV's is that they vent all air to atmosphere an the ECU then chucks a wobbly cos the air that is supposed to be there, isnt! Now with a hybri valve, a little air is vented and a little diverted so you get the BOV sound but not the faults. Personally i couldnt stand a loud Whooosh! sound every time i ease off the gas, but with the CAI, it makes a slight noise anyway and vents no air out so its all good! If its just for the sound, change the airbox for a carbon box and hi-flow oil-free filter.

Rich

Thanks for the info guys, however I would really like a hybrid, any UK suppiers ???
:)

Right.........