Miltek backbox onto standard system-sleeve needed?

Prawn

My other car is a MINI!!!!
Reaction score
Website
twitter.com
hey guys, somehow the previous owner of my car managed to dent the backbox, which has given it a nice irritating rattle..... so its due a replacement

in an ideal world, i would get myself a full miltek catback system, and be very happy with it. but im a student, and im poor!

ive got myself a stainless steel miltek back box, with discrete tailpipes.

the thing is, its a back box only, with no axle pipe either (it was nice and cheap!)

i was told that to fit it, i simply need to cut my old audi back box off at the right place, and fit a sleeve in between the audi pipe and my new miltek back box. i went to an exhaust fitter today, and they were no use and recommended halfords, and it just so happens, my local branch dont to sleeves at all.

so, what size sleeve would i need to fit this miltek back box onto my otherwise standard 98 1.8 T?

the ID of the miltek where it joins up appears to be 2.5'', does anyone know the OD of the audi system? and subsequently what sort of sleeve i will need?

many thanks in advance

Nick

http://www.trials-forum.co.uk/gallery/1167804423/gallery_168_26_39891.jpg

EDIT: got the exhaust now fitted, pics at the bottom \/ \/ \/

anyone? ideally, id like to try and hunt down the sleeve i need tomorow, so i can get it fitted on saturday :)

thanks Guy, i did think of my local motorfactors, but thought they only really stocked parts for production cars, and not really much custom type stuff....

would my local GSF be likely to know what size sleeve i need?

Ive got a couple near me and they have all manor of exhaust sleeves clamps hangers reducers etc.

Measure the OD of the stock system and just take off a couple of mil to get the ID, the wall will be no more than 1mil thick.

If you cant get under the car, give your local dealer a call and ask them. Looking at ETKA depending on your engine code the exhaust clamps