REVO MAP - do I?

JB_A3_Turbo

Reaction score
Does anyone understand the way REVO actually works?

I'm seriously looking at getting my 1.8T REVO'd but I'm a little sceptical about it and basically don't want to screw up my car. I've heard people talk about it and say they can definitely notice a difference. My A3 is an earlier 99 so they quote it will get to around 190BHP from 150BHP.

Does the REVO software completely wipe the existing Audi MAP and replace with a REVO designed one? Is my original Audi map still safe ?

Thanks,

i have revo on my audi S3 and its awesome! i have the SPS3 switch so can switch from stock performance (audi), to performance, timing settings, fuel, anti theft and boost.
you can definately feel the difference especially when i run it high boost in cold conditions. im no expert dont get me wrong and i havent had experience with different companies but i like the way you can play with your settings to get the optimum performance. you have to have a good idea though. you cant set it high boost and timing in warm conditions.
i believe you can just change back to the audi map with SPS switch, they do 3. the top one is SPS3 which i have got which are 300 quid including VAT, the SPS2 is about 200 quid inc VAT. if you go on the revo website it will explain more clearly than me.

i love it and im very happy with mine even tho i paid 680 quid for the remap plus a forge diverter valve to cope with the extra power which is advisable
hope this helps

Lee

My comments on remaps in general are:

watch out for your clutch! many people's clutches fail after a remap - consider it a hidden cost of remapping so you're prepared

if driven moderately, i don't believe it will make any difference to wear and tear

however, if booted (likely, otherwise why have it done?) then it stands to reason that it will put more stress, wear and tear on the engine.