Buying an A3 TDi quattro

batwad

Reaction score
Hi folks.

Audi forum newbie here, so apologies if I screw up or have missed something blindingly obvious! :D

I'm in the market for an end-of-line A3 TDi quattro, either 2002 or 2003 built cos I think they're lush (and I'm a dervhead) :) Having to do a bit of hunting around, cos they're hard to come by, so I want to make sure that the one I get is as sweet as possible.

So, does anyone have any tips on what to look out for? Are there any common mechanical faults, electrical failures or bodges to keep my eyes peeled for? Noises to listen for on the test drive, bit of interior that fall apart - that sort of thing.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Hi there, first up welcome to the forum.... Protracted ramblings follow!

As a reply to your post, I own a A3 TDi q and I can only talk about my experience with it and dont proport to being an expert though there is a lot of experience and knowledge on the forum.

Your right about being difficult to find, be prepared to travel. Audi Used/Abused/Approved may be a good starting point though they do crop up elsewhere with independents. There may be some general info on buying which is common, have a look at the sticky threads up top here. Remember, its a car and all the usual car buying checks work on Audi's. Less danger of being a Chav Chariot though there have been some shocking photo's inthe threads.

I have owned mine as a 52 plate for 75k miles now. Bought with 5k on the clock. Superchipped at 5k. Its run without any problems whatsoever. Nothing fallen off, creaking, failed or not working. Never failed to start and copes with Scottish weather brilliantly (god bless seat heating). It uses little or no oil between services which are approx 18k apart. It gets serviced by Star Performance, an independent garage, and they do a great job. No actually, they do better than that. Think of your Audi dealer as a sales outlet formost, then service it elsewhere.