Chris NottMonster Motorsport
    imported_Tariq

temp not going over 69C

Hi does anyone know why my car doesnt seem to go over 69C and always seems to be running cold!

Any help would be appreciated

One more thing i've already replaced the coolant temp sensor with no joy to the problem!

2. # ADS
    ADS

...Watching you!

Status

Re: temp not going over 69C

I've got the same problem! I changed the temp sensor, and the 'stat, neither of which have solved the problem. It gets upto 90oC when stationary, but not when moving. I'm going to change the O-ring on the stat, just in case its not sealing.

Rich

imported_Tariq

mine doesnt seem to go anywhere near 90C

imported_velcrobix

I have the same problems as you Rich. Recently had a service but nothing showed on VAG com as being a problem. Let us know if changing the oring works.

Cheers

imported_Tariq

hey dont mean to sound dumb but where is the o ring located and how do i remove it

(i'm a learning diy mechanic!!)

...Watching you!

Status

The O-ring that seals the thermostat - It should have solved the problem when i changed teh stat, but i didnt change the O ring and thats the only thing i can think of.

Rich

va va voom

Status

is a o ring like a rubber seal ?

6th Gear

Status

I hope that is all it is Rich, how many miles on the engine?

...Watching you!

Status

[ QUOTE ]
    I hope that is all it is Rich, how many miles on the engine?

[/ QUOTE ]

6th Gear

Status

just trying to think of other things. Just wondered if the head gasket or something could be causing back pressure and stopping the thermostat from shutting except on idle when the revs are down and less pressure. Its unlikely tho, just a thought [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]

...Watching you!

Status

I hope not!!

...Watching you!

Status