My First Audi - Help!

J44KWED

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to this blog but have read many interesting posts already and I now have a very expensive shopping list so thanks for that!

About a month ago i bought a blue 1998 Audi A3 1.8T full leather with 88,000 miles on the clock. It had recently had a new gearbox, cam belt, clutch, solid mass flywheel conversion, fuel & water pumps. So I was fairly happy i got it for just under £1,000 :w00t: The reg also begins 'S3' I wish it was an S3!

I bought the car as standard, and put some 18" ZCW ZM5 wheels and Maxxis Pro R1 tyres on within a week of having it. It's been a great car so far, but I've found a couple of things wrong with her since.

The last MOT (April 2013) said that both 'nearside & offside bonded suspension unit is deteriorated but can function as intended'.
Is that this?:

The car pulls to the left if i let go of the steering wheel, to drive straight i have to steer slightly right! I've had the alignment checked twice but they said it was all properly aligned, so I'm thinking it must be the bonded suspension unit. Anyone else had this issue? The tread on the left front tyre was severely worn on the very edge when i bought the car and don't wanna wreck my new tyres!

Also just tonight i was having a poke around the engine bay, and found that a hose coming off my stock dump valve has broken (if that's what it is) the lower end was completely separated, and when i touched the hose, it completely came off in my hand! Oops. I've been driving with it like this fine, and i can hear a dump valve whoosh noise when i change gear and hadn't felt any problems driving it- Can anyone advise me what that hose does and if i should replace the DV with an 007p while I'm at it?

Here it is:

Thx in advance!

p.s. I'm based in West London if anyone can recommend a good garage?

Cheers,
Jack.

​Hi Jack, welcome to audi-sport.net. Im sure you will enjoy the forum. :) x

Managed to find out how to add photos: