Re-build of audi 1.8 enine

Repooh

Reaction score
What's good fellas. I've just joined up and want some knowledge from you guys. I have re-built my 1.8 t engine after having blue smoke bellowing out the rear. I found out that the piston was absolutely effed. So I replaced it and put it back in. Now the starter motor isn't engaging with the flywheel? I've asked other vag owners and I've been told its the earth wire. Where would this be?

Where should I connect it to. I'm not too good with electrics better with engine mods. Cheers

There should be a thick earth cable coming from under the battery tray that connects to the head of the top bolt fixing the gearbox to the block... it will be the one towards the front of the car rather than to the rear...

You can see it in the pic below...
CRW_4491.jpg

<tuffty/>

Ok cool mate I'm going to have a look now. If I get stuck I will give you a shout.

I can't see it lol. Anyway you can highlight it. Sorry mate

To. I done that but it's still spinning freely. Could the starter motor need adjusting to fit in? I'm bugging out can you help

Sounds like it might be the solenoid. I would take it out and clean all the contacts, bench test it too.

When you say bench test it what do you mean?

Apply 12v to the solenoid/motor to make sure its working correctly. Hold the motor down as it got a fair bit of torque.

Solenoid works but still won't engage. Still spinning freely? What else could be the problem?

Did you put the flywheel on :laugh:

Or did you change the flywheel and its not the correct one?

Yeah of course but its making a slight knocking sound now. What could that be? I'm pretty sure everything is connected properly. It's just bugging me because it started fine with a @#*Â¥ed piston!

Have you checked the voltage at the starter motor?

Can you turn the engine over by hand?